Passap Vertical Band for a Sweater or Jacket


I am still learning new things on my passap and I have had it for quite awhile. I just tried something I saw in a book that I have. It is knitting a vertical band while knitting the sweater so you don’t have to go back and attach a band. Well, that’s not new you say. I didn’t think so either until I read the directions. When I finished the dark blue one I liked the look. I also noticed it did not curl in . I gently steamed it and it hangs nicely. I think it would be really nice on a formal jacket knitted plain. I would not do as deep a hem or I wouldn’t do a hem at all and just start with the side band . This is simple to do and I hope you try it.
The hem tension was 4 (2 strands of 2/24)Cast on any number of stitches using the N/N row (2..), 2 rows CX/CX (3)and one N/N(4) row. Knit the number of rows you want for a hem. Then transfer all of the stitches on the front bed to the back bed EXCEPT the last five on the right.
Set the front lock to CX and tension 6 and the back lock to N at tension 5. Put in black strippers. Gently weight the five end stitches. With the front lock setting on CX it stretches the stitch a little so it is noticeable and you only knit one row on that front bed for every two rows of knitting. Incidentally, you don’t need front or back bed pushers.I went back and did another sample leaving only 2 stitches on the end instead of 5 and liked it even better. Even the purl side looks good and the edge stands out even more. Notice in the pictures how the border does not show until you transfer the stitches and set the front lock to CX.

I wanted to see how this would look as a design so I just went back and knitted the same thing using 60 stitches .I set up 2 stitches working on the front bed with four empty needles between them. It reminds me of a tuck stitch but if a mistake is made this is so simple to correct. You don’t have to use the console and ripping back would be fast. Notice on one edge I have the 2 stitch border and for the hem I knitted four rows before transferring the stitches to the back bed.

4 Comments »

  1. Gillian Pearson Said:

    Hi Carol Hope all with you …. I have not had a chance to do my kitten blankets …I have a damaged back channel 😤 and I need my friends to help me replace and of course its around ndl 18 (it wouldn’t be at the far end of the bed of course!). So progress is slow …tsh! Best wises GILL Mobile: +27 (0)82 493 6639 Fax: 086 664 1553

    From: Cckittenknits’s Weblog Reply-To: Cckittenknits’s Weblog Date: Monday 15 May 2017 at 4:29 PM To: Microsoft Office User Subject: [New post] Passap Vertical Band for a Sweater or Jacket

    WordPress.com cckittenknits posted: ” I am still learning new things on my passap and I have had it for quite awhile. I just tried something I saw in a book that I have. It is knitting a vertical band while knitting the sweater so you don’t have to go back and attach a band. Well, that’s no”

    • Oh Bummer!!! Are you having withdrawal symptoms yet? I would. lol Take pictures while you are repairing in case you can’t figure out how to get it back together. 🙂

  2. one2travelfar Said:

    Clever, simple edging. Very nice.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

