Passap Afghan of Many Techniques


DSCF3988DSCF3990

Bet you thought you were going to see another large afghan. Well this strip of techniques was the length of an afghan . I knitted techniques 180 to 191 . I knitted 21 rows for each technique and that came to 84 knitted rows . I used 60 stitches, the same pattern, same tension, same amount of rows. I typed up the techniques, put in the settings and pusher information. I laminated the information and attached with a yarn that is strong like ravel cord so they won’t come off. I am doing this for a friend that I am helping with the E6000.  This shows her the backs and the sizes when she chooses an afghan. I made an afghan using the Fairisle Fantasy but she wanted it in a lap blanket so we looked at the strip and chose a different technique. It came out perfect for her but we also shortened the pattern as well.

I learned several things doing this. My arm is killing me. Hahahaha, just kidding. First, I love this machine. Lol  Second, it took me longer to do than an afghan since you have to reprogram every technique and set the pushers on the back bed in or out of the rail. You can see the widest one and it is technique 186 which is the fantasy fairisle. What surprises me is that you don’t see , or I should say, I don’t see many afghans made using the last four techniques 188-191. You have to change the back lock every two rows on a couple of them but it is not confusing. The console tells you when to change. Techniques 188 to 191 are closer in width to the fantasy fairisle . Also notice that the technique 181 has a solid back. I also knitted technique 185 for the first time which is the long stitch or summer fairisle and I like it. It is amazing how one pattern can look so different in every one of the techniques. This also gives you an idea of distortion using different techniques.

Also, I have two little cutters on my other knitting machine carriages for cutting the yarn . They are great and I don’t have to pick up a pair of scissors. I bought these years ago for a dollar and have not found them since. A couple of weeks ago I went to a sewing expo in Cleveland and I found this( I should say my friend found it) . It was $7.95 and I have it mounted on top of my passap lock. It is not as nice as my cheapie but it sure does the trick for cutting my yarn. 🙂 It has a self stick backing.

4 Comments »

  1. Mary Said:

    That is brilliant thank you. I am holiday at the moment but intend to get back on my Passap when Inget home.

    • You’re welcome. Enjoy your holiday. This definitely will help in learning the passap machine. 🙂

  2. rainbird777 Said:

    I think this is an excellent thing to do and have often recommended it to new Passap knitters. You learn so much by doing it. Now your friend should do it for herself, it would give her lots of practice in programming techniques and she will also have the experience of setting the back bed pushers and know what to expect when she chooses to knit one of the techniques. The summer fairisle makes a lovely summer “Lace” blouse or sweater. I used it for one knitted in Bramwell’s Artistic which is difficult to get now but a cotton or hard twist unbulked acrylic can be substituted. I found it quite fun to do.

    • Lol, rainbird, I am not new to passap and I learned several things doing it! Yes, my friend sent me an email and she said she wants to make the strip also. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

