Passap Diamond Within A Diamond


dscf3806

I was reading an article called Queen of Diamonds by Irene Krieger in Machine Knitting News magazine August 2002 . I looked at this diamond and thought , that’s too easy so lets do the one design next to it. I could not grasp how to do the design I wanted to do  and thought I better try the  “easy” diamond design first to see if it would turn on the light bulb in my brain. OMG!!! The article just tells you how she added texture and some of what she did to arrive at the design. She does not give needle set up or what needles go  on the front or back bed. I sort of assumed it was done on a standard machine but had to try the passap because I love it. (Did I ever mention that? lol)It took me three times before I finally got it. I think it would take me even longer  to  write out the instructions !! haha

You start out doing the eyelet transfer on the front bed. When you move L1  needle to L2 on the same bed, you then bring one needle into work on the back bed opposite the hole.(racking handle up) Then knit four rows. On the next row you take the stitches on either side of the first eyelet(L2, R1) on the front bed and put them on the stitch next to them (L2 to L3 and R1 to R2). Then you pull needles on the back bed forward into the empty spaces. You continue until there are nine needles on the back bed. This is the purl area around the middle “knitted” diamond. Then the fun begins!!! While you are moving the end stitches out on the front bed for the big diamond, now you will start the middle diamond  by moving those stitches to the front bed! Sound confusing? It was and is. My sample is larger because I went wider with the diamond .(And yes, it was a mistake)

The reason that I like this design is because the rest of the garment would be in knit and that is a lot easier sewing the side seams than if it were the purl side. I probably won’t make anything using this design but did you ever wonder how something was done and just had to try it? I know a lot of you can think outside of the box and could come up with lots of ideas where to use this.

Now, I have to go try the design next to this one that I wanted to start with first  and see if I can figure it out after doing this “easy” one. Hah

If enough of you want me to write the instructions on this, I will do it. Just let me know. 🙂

8 Comments »

  1. Eliabeth maher Said:

    yes I would love instructions please. Many thanks………………Elizabeth

    • I will send them to you when I get a chance to do this again. May be a week since I am very busy the next couple of days. 🙂

  2. Mary Ann McNaull Said:

    That is so pretty Carol. I believe you can do any thing you want to on the Passap.

    • Lol, you have such confidence in my ability with this machine. 🙂 How is Barbie?

      • Mary Ann McNaull Said:

        She went back to work a week early so that is a plus. She still has fusions and has issues with her fingernails and feet.
        I thought I might start the wolf afghan by Mike Becker. It is in 2 parts.
        How was your checkup?

  3. A.Doedens Said:

    I would love to hear how to knit this.
    Aaltje

  4. Louise Clarkson Said:

    Oh how amazing!! I would love to have instructions for doing this.
    The more I have been reading online, the more difficult you very talented very generous magicians are making it for me to stick to finishing the first exercises in my Duo 80 instruction book!

    I only bought it last week. Trouble is I work full time. I go off piste a lot with my hand knitting. I bought this machine to support the set up of my embryonic knitting kit and pattern business. It’s opening up a whole new world.

    Thank you so much for sharing this.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

