Passap Item for the Goodwill


Bet a lot of you never think I have a project that does not come out well. Wrong! A friend made a tartan plaid wrap and sent me a picture of it. I loved the plaid design. So I decided to make a scarf but I wanted the plaid to go all the way around so I knew I would have a seam. So I moved the pattern around so that one cranberry stripe would go up the middle on each side. Okay, good so far. Then I added two extra stitches , one on each end so the main color would knit those  and sewing up the seam would be easy . Okay, still good . So I cast on 69-69, Technique 195 . Both end needles on the front bed. I used tension 3../3.. so it would be a little tighter weave so it would not be real wide. When I knitted about 3oo rows I got under the machine to look at the fabric.Yep, I like it. Knitted a couple hundred more rows and looked again. I took off the weights and comb and thought, oh, no, this will be too heavy a fabric for me. So now, do I drop from the machine or just finish and see what happens. So, since 2/24 yarn is multiplying in my house, I decided to keep on going to the end of the scarf which was 1152 rows!!!!! This is an afghan! lol Well, I sat and sewed it up and crocheted the ends together to seal the tube. I decided to just give it to the goodwill store. Then I thought maybe my sister would like to put it  around her shoulders when she sits outside on cold nights around their campfire  when they go camping in the late fall.  I visited my sister and she loved it and told me she would use it to put around her shoulders when she sits and reads in their family room. So, all effort is not lost.

Now the real laugh is that it would have been a nice wrap if it was one layer, BUT….since I moved the pattern over the design would be way off if not sewn together. Haha

4 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    I bet you think I understand that ! 🙂 Glad S1 likes it !

  2. Connie Said:

    Carol, the plaid scarf turned out lovely. I saw a young lady yesterday with a plaid scarf almost down to her ankles with a similar design. You would definitely need a motor drive 🙂

    • So Connie, are you saying I should have knit it longer? LOL OMG, yes, a motor for sure! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

