Passap Headband Information


I had several people email me about this head band. One very nice lady asked if I had knitted it the way the pattern said. I was intrigued as to why she would ask that. It seems that it is difficult to knit this way with the first row on the back bed and the rest of the work(stockinette) on the front bed until the end.  And she was SOOOOOOOOOO right!!! LOL

I had trouble with this one and I believe it was because the yarn I used on this one was a little thicker than Tamm 3 ply which is what the pattern called for. The blue band is 3 ply by Tamm and I did not have any problems once I passed the 2nd row.

So what do I suggest if you want to try this? I did my first zig zag row at tension 1../1..  Hang a comb! I tried without doing that and the stitches pop up on the following rows.The next row was GX/N and knitted back to the right at tension 3. Bring all front bed needles into work, tension 5 and knit 20 rows. I have a whole set of stainless steel rods my brother in law made me and I laid one in-between the beds at row ten and hung weights on both ends(light Brother claw weights) I do believe this is what saved me from stitches popping up. I think you could use a wooden dowel rod and hang weights  on the ends.  I will caution you if you open the beds just to look at your work. It will be almost impossible to close the beds if you don’t put something between them to hold the work down! I also have a thin piece of plastic like a large credit card and I pushed the stitches down every couple of rows on this one. On my blue one I did not have to do it at all. I posted pictures to show you how it looks while knitting.

DO NOT criticize my dirty needle beds or I won’t post anymore!!!!    🙂

So if you really feel you need to conquer this technique, by all means try it on a smaller amount of needles so you don’t get totally frustrated. However, I just made another headband and I knitted   it on the front bed only and it came out the same size and I had the whole band knitted in 10 minutes. Hahahahaha The finish took a little bit more time but no frustration, just a little more time. However, overall, I believe the single bed band was faster. I will be posting a picture of it tomorrow along with instructions.

row-1-2

row-3

row3-6

row-20

row-at-the-finish

row-2nd-last-row

row-final

4 Comments »

  1. Jill Rashleigh Said:

    I knit socks toe up on the Passap with a similar start. I hang a ravel cord over the stitches with a weight each en and this stops any problems. I am planning to make the headband today and this is what I will try. Thanks for the update.

    • I do that also on the passap. The problem here is that you are using a lot more stitches. I hope you are successful and would love it if you let me know. Thanks for your comment.
      Carol 🙂

  2. rainbird777 Said:

    Re the difficulty in knitting this headband on the front bed only if you have cast-on double bed – may I ask which strippers you are using? Once you start knitting on one bed only, you should change to the black strippers, that should keep the stitches from popping off.

    • Hi, the pattern said to knit a couple of rows and then put in the black strippers. That is what I did. I did not have a problem with the first band . The second pink band was thicker yarn I think. Tension is also a big factor in this technique. I am glad I was able to do it though. I felt like I accomplished something. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

