Passap Headband-You have to try the design!


dscf3646

dscf3639dscf3634

I found this pattern in a magazine  called Canada’s fashion machine. It was made on the DM80 but I made it on the E6000. If you don’t want to make the headband, I encourage you to at least try the design. If you look at the design, the little white ridges between the plain knit stitches look like they are tucked into the fabric yet they pop up a little. It is so pretty up close. It would make a beautiful cuff on a jacket.

In the pattern by Nancy M. Seither, you cast on 1  by 1 and knit one row. Then you only knit on the front bed until the end. At the end, you take the 1 by 1 stitches on the back bed, move them to the front bed. Then you bring all the needles in on the back bed and knit one row on both beds. Separate the beds and crochet off the front bed stitches. I would be curious to try this just knitting on one bed and then hang the first row and bind off. Or how about staying with 1 b 1 rib in place of the stockinette for nice stretch. This does fit nicely though.

Here are the directions in my drop box for you to try.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kifnlkqcx80r1vy/Passap%20Headband%20Directions%20for%20DM80%20%26%20E6000.docx?dl=0

10 Comments »

  1. Joyce Said:

    This is so pretty! I will have to try it when I get back to Minnesota

  2. Susan McBean Said:

    You lost me at the bind off….but I might give it a try 🙂

    • I hope you just try the design if you don’t do the headband. Basically, the first and last rows are knitted using the back bed. The rest is on the front bed. 🙂

  3. claschu Said:

    Hi, thank you for the direction which I could download from your dropbox! I now have a question: Have you knitted this headbandand exactly following these direction? Regards from Germany Margrit

    Freundliche Grüße Margarita Fischer

    >

    • I had trouble understanding the beginning of the pattern and did an open toe cast on first. After doing it, you don’t have to do it that way. Just a starting zig zag row like the pattern calls for (I believe) is all you need. 🙂

  4. Mary Ann McNaull Said:

    That is pretty, Carol. I bet my 2 great granddaughters would like one or more.

  5. Connie Said:

    What a great little project! Perfect for this weather . Can’t wait to knit one up. It’s definitely on my to do list! Thanks for sharing.

    • You’re welcome! I hope you try it. We don’t need to wear it now since it was 61 degrees here today. I want snow!!!!!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

