Passap vs Brother on Lace Scarf


dscf3587

My friend Jacqui emailed me and told me that this “wave” design is on the Passap magazine #60. Here is the link to see it

http://machineknittingetc.com/passap-60-pattern-book.html

I had given it  a thought to try it on the passap but I figured  it would be a lot of work moving pushers in and out of work. When I saw the magazine I thought I would give it a try since you all know that my passap is my favorite machine.

In the magazine you will notice that the beginning of the sweater is knitted plain without the waves for a number of rows and it is knit on both beds. Then you transfer the back bed to the front bed and do this pattern. At least that is what I was able to figure out since those magazines don’t give a lot of detail.

Well, I found out why it was started tubular and then knitted plain for a number of rows. I cast on tubular and went right into the wave pattern and it was very difficult. If you try this on the passap I would start with waste yarn and ravel cord .

If you look at the sides of this beginning of a scarf, they are relatively straight. (I steamed this out to show you)That is because when you knit the end groups by themselves when you get to the edge, passap instruction tells you to knit 4 rows before working on two groups to start the row. In the video that is posted on my last blog, 6 rows are knitted giving it a wavy edge. I like the wavy edge  better, but that is  just my preference.

So which machine wins?  THE BROTHER

First of all, on my last scarf there were sets of four needles with 3 out of work in-between. On this one there are sets of 6 needles with 2 out of work in-between.

1.The closed beds keep you from seeing the knitting and you can forget which direction you are going in.

2. Quicker to pull needles to hold than it is to put pushers in and out of work. Though I will say, it was not as slow as I thought it would be.

3. On the brother I was able to hold the sets of two stitches I was working on with my little finger to keep them from coming off the stitches.

4. I like the chain cast on that is used to start the scarf on the Brother.

5. More of a chance to put the pushers under the wrong needles and end up with seven in a group instead of the six this calls for .(I know because it happened.LOL)

 

And here is a link to show a scarf on the bulky machine which would go even quicker. 🙂

http://machineknittingfun.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-new-cap.html

2 Comments »

  1. Joyce Said:

    This looks similar to a pattern I have for the Passap and it works quite well. Since it is winter & I am in Colorado & my machine is in our cabin in Minnesota, I will try to remember to contact you when I have access to the pattern. I can’t remember right now the author or where I picked it up. But, your picture looks great.

    • Thank you Joyce, would love to see the pattern you have to compare.
      Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

