Passap Short Row Lesson for Beginners


dscf3460

I was getting ready to go make a pair of socks on my sock machine. I went to a Facebook website for sock knitters to refresh my memory and I saw this project. The woman said she just knitted five sock heels and then closed it and made a pin cushion. So , I thought I would let beginners know how to short row on the knitting machine before attempting a pair of socks. This can be done on other machines by just putting needles into hold. On the passap, we work with the pushers to make them knit or hold a stitch and using the LX lock setting.

On my sock machine I have a 72 needle cylinder. The toe and heel are worked on 36 needles. So, I decided to work with the same amount on the passap. I like the size the pin cushion is but if you want to use less needles to make it smaller, by all means, experiment. If you want more definite ridges, short row down more than what I did here. I short rowed to 14 stitches and then back out again.

The great thing about learning from this lesson is that you are only working on the front bed and you can open the beds to hang weights and see everything clearly. I have passap heel weights that are flat and slide in nicely between the beds.They are well worth the investment.

Are you ready to try it? And to get a pin cushion out of your lesson? I used sock yarn at a tension 5 and black pushers.  While you are short rowing pay attention to your stitches. If they look like they are starting to rise up, open the beds and move your weights up. With this many needles you won’t have a big problem but move them up for sure after you short row decrease and after you short  row increase in this exercise. After the first heel is complete, you can take off your cast on comb.

Cast on double bed one row and hang a comb so that it will catch the stitches when you remove the back bed needles to out of work position. If you hang it wrong the comb will fall to the floor. Now knit about 10 rows of waste yarn and then knit one row of ravel cord.

TO SHORT ROW- Put the pushers up on the front bed under all 36 needles. Set lock to GX/LX (GX/BX DM80)and knit 1 row to the left with main yarn. Opposite the locks, put one pusher in non-working position and knit one row to the right and wrap the needle on the lock side which is on your right. See the picture below. Continue putting pushers out of work one by one each row until you have 14 stitches in work in the middle of the bed. Your lock will be on the left. Now opposite the locks, put one pusher on the right of working pushers(needle 8) back into work , knit a row and wrap on the lock side. Continue putting one pusher back into work each row opposite the lock until all 36 stitches are back in work. You have completed one “heel”. I did not knit two rows between the five heels. I just started to short row again. I did five heels. I removed the work on waste yarn and no need for ravel cord. It will unravel since it is the last row knitted. Then turn your work so that the purl side is facing out and start to kitchener stitch the beginning of your work to the end of your work. Pull out the ravel cord and the waste yarn on the beginning. Remove the waste yarn at the end of work. Carefully turn right side out through the hole . Stuff your pin cushion , gather the opening with the end of yarn to close the hole and put a button in the middle. I love birds and used a little whimsical button. Great project to use up left over sock yarn from making socks. The woman who made hers used all different colors for each heel. And……..I can’t find the site I saw this project !!!! I also have to tell you that I have sewn for years and I don’t have a decent pin cushion . So this is for me. 🙂

Update on my trip to the lady’s house that offered the free 18 inch doll patterns . I ended up taking two afghans for her. One was the baby afghan lovely and the other one was  the teddy bear one I made that was posted on my blog. I was glad that I did. She gave me about 110 doll patterns!!! So if you dont’ see me posting for awhile, it is because I am sewing…….or getting back to my sock machine. 🙂

shortrow1shortrow2shortrow3shortrow5

 

4 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Maybe…I would try that….but I could knit 4 pair of socks on the CSM in the the time it would take me to do…what do you think I am going to do?? Happy Holidays Carol, you are the best ! 🙂

    • Hahahaha, I know you can do it faster on the sock machine and I would do that too if I were you. I just thought it would help new people learn short rowing.
      Try it on the sock machine and make yourself a pin cushion…….or make it in yellow and put it on your tree top for a star! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Happy Holidays to you too. I am getting the snow I love that you get in Maine. Whoo Hoo bring it on!!!

  2. Connie Said:

    Carol, can’t wait to try out short rowing on the E6. What a great little project and a wonderful skill to master! Thank you for the great detailed instructions and sharing your knowledge. Looks like it’s going to be a white Christmas for you 🙂

    • Thank you Connie. I am hoping it will be a white Christmas but not too much since my family has an hour to drive to get to my house. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

