Machine Knitted Santa Ornament/Package Tie


 

I found a pattern in one of my books for a Sant pin, or tree decoration. I don’t know who the author is or where the pattern is from. I just know that it was in a file I have of all Christmas ideas. I decided to make him because it uses “pencil fringe” . I had never tried it though I have heard of it. I made this on my Brother 940.

This was so easy and quick to make and I think he is adorable. He is knitted flat and not stuffed. Because of the way this is knitted, the edges pull in making it look like he is. The yarn suggested was 2/15 or 2/20. I used Flash in white for the face and red for the hat. He actually sparkles if you see him in person. haha

For the beard I had a type of white ribbon yarn .

He is made by e wrapping 15 stitches in white yarn. Then you knit one row. The beard is made next using the pencil fringe. You will have a separate ball of white yarn on the floor to wrap around the pencil. You will start on the left  with all the needles out to hold and put the yarn around the end needle and then down and around the pencil and then back up over the next needle and keep doing that along the length of stitches. Then you knit one row.(You can knit this row by hand if you don’t want to take the carriage across) Then wrap in the opposite direction.For his beard, the first pencil fringe is made wrapping the pencil one time. The second row is made wrapping two times around the pencil and the third row is made wrapping the pencil three times. After this you move on to the face. Continuing on the same needles,you will put 5 stitches in hold on the next two rows. Then you will put one back in work opposite the carriage until you are back to 15 stitches. Then knit 5 rows and take off on garter bar or waste yarn.

Now you will start the hat the same way as his beard. With white, E wrap 15 stitches and do three  rows of pencil fringe but only wrap each row one time around the pencil. Remember to knit one row after wrapping the pencil. Put all needles to hold after knitting that row so you can remove the pencil . When you are finished with the three rows of pencil fringe, rehang the the face stitches that were removed on the garter bar onto the same needles. There will be 2 stitches on each needle. Knit one row of white

Now you change to red yarn and finish the hat. You will knit 6 rows of red. Decrease one stitch on each side and knit 3 rows. Then decrease 1 stitch each side every other row until one stitch is left. Fasten off and leave a loop to use for hanging on the tree or for a package ornament. (or pin)

I did use a tighter tension(5) for my yarn. I made my first sample with 2/24 and he was too long in the face. Also, use a loopy yarn for the beard. You want fullness. The loops of 2/24 were okay but did not make him look very cute. The pattern suggest sequins for the eyes and a pink sequin for the nose. I used black little pompoms I had and a red rhinestone for the nose. He is sure to bring a smile whether you wear him as a pin, hang him on the tree or put him on a Christmas gift. Hope you try him. 🙂

 

 

5 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Ho, Ho Ho…Carol you really are the Christmas Queen. Luckily I am used to your snowflakes….as those white floaters really scare me !

    • LOLOLOLOL!!! Guess what, they aren’t snow flakes, they are floaters! Quick call the Opthomologist. hahahaha

  2. Mary Ann McNaull Said:

    So cute, Carol.

  3. Siobhan OLeary Said:

    This is the post I referred to, Brenda.

    Siobhan

    >


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

