Knitted Hat with Ear Flaps on the Brother Standard Machine


dscf0025A woman who lives outside of the United States  reached out to  me about learning the passap. She bought a passap E6000 and she is really excelling in her learning of the machine. She is a loving caregiver to a disabled child. Because she has very little time to herself, she knits in the wee hours of the morning. I think I might start doing that since she accomplishes so much and makes such good use of her time when she does knit! Recently she was telling me that she used to  make a lot of hats on another machine she had. She sent me a picture of this hat with the team logo on it and I thought it was so cute. She said it was her own pattern and she used to earn extra money making them for  people. She was kind enough to share the pattern with me and all of you. I never heard of the yarn she used so I used Can Cun and made one for a family member. The hat is so easy to make. I love the way the ear flaps are done. What took me the longest time was figuring the design into 34 rows and centering it so the back seam matched. I was just trying it out with CanCun using a tension 7. When I asked her more questions like how long the braids are, she in turn sent another sheet of information with the tensions she uses and the sizes for children through adult. She uses the same amount of stitches but adjusts the tension for the sizes. Now that I like!!! And the braids are so much better than making pompoms. LOL The length of the braids is your choice. I used 8 strands for each section of braids

Here is her pattern that she wrote up for me(and you 🙂

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m4jid6khtlhpoht/AAB_Kihhi0xkzq0rP3nl8kbia?dl=0

These would make great Christmas gifts . They don’t take long to make, not a lot of sewing of seams and they are cute !  On my navy and white hat I used a fuzzy acrylic yarn that sort of feels like angora. However, I just realized that I forgot to raise my tension for one row when I hung the band. You can see a ridge but I think a light steam might help.

dscf3202

dscf3210

11 Comments »

  1. robbiemct3 Said:

    Every day is Earth Day. Make it a good one!

    >

  2. readnknit Said:

    Thank you for sharing the pattern.  Jo

    From: Cckittenknits’s Weblog To: jrcimino@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, November 28, 2016 6:38 PM Subject: [New post] Knitted Hat with Ear Flaps on the Brother Standard Machine #yiv5582860914 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5582860914 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5582860914 a.yiv5582860914primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5582860914 a.yiv5582860914primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5582860914 a.yiv5582860914primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5582860914 a.yiv5582860914primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5582860914 WordPress.com | cckittenknits posted: “A woman who lives outside of the United States  reached out to  me about learning the passap. She bought a passap E6000 and she is really excelling in her learning of the machine. She is a loving caregiver to a disabled child. Because she has very little ” | |

  3. Linda B. Said:

    Beautiful!! Absolutely beautiful! And I’m so grateful that she has shared her pattern. Thank you!

  4. Naomi Said:

    How generous! Thank you both.

  5. This looks so professional. I’m hoping some of our expert Passap users here in England will give advice on yarn and tensions. May I send my very warmest wishes and admiration to the lady in such difficult circumstances who is using her “quiet times” in such a positive way. It is humbling indeed.

    • Thank you for the kind words! I will tell her. 🙂 I would like to try one on the passap as well. Hopefully I will have time before Christmas. I especially would like to try wool and do a four color design.

  6. I’m not able to download


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

