Passap Cables Knitted SUPER EASY!


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

DSCF2765

 

PLEASE READ THE DIRECTIONS FIRST AND THEN WATCH THE SLIDESHOW 🙂

I just had to share this technique with you. I have done cables many times. The easiest method I ever found on the Brother was to cross the cables and then take an extra piece of yarn (running it up on the back of the work)and hand knit the crossed cable stitches and then continue knitting.

Well this one is the easiest one I ever knitted. I found this technique in a book called ABC of Perfect Knitting. It was copyrighted in 1971 by MADAG and printed in Switzerland. I hope you take ten minutes to try this because it has energized me to try cables now.

Here is the needle set up. Sample: cast on single bed on the front bed of the passap .

Needles left 1,2,and 3 and right 1,2, and 3 will be the cable stitches. Racking handle down. Take stitch on left 4 and put it on the bb needle that is slightly to the right. Now take needle right 4 and put it on the bb needle slightly to the left. There should be five needles between the back two stitches you just moved. Now take the heel of the stitch on needle left 5 and put it on the back bed on the left of the one there. Now do the same on the right. You are now set up to do the cable. You knit 9 rows and now the lock is on the left. Now on the back bed where the five empty needles are behind the front six, you will bring the second and fourth one into work. Knit one row to the right and you will see a big loop on the needles. Put those two needles out of work now. Take your three prong transfer tools and transfer needles 4,5,6 to 1,2,3 and needles 1,2,3 to 4,5,6. There is no stretching or pulling of the yarn because of the loop from the previously knitted row .

I hope you give this a try. 🙂

11 Comments »

  1. Ingrid Thunberg Said:

    Sorry, I can not see the slideshow.

  2. Ingrid Thunberg Said:

    Ooops!
    Wrong of me. I was in too much hurry. I CAN see it.

  3. Julia Stepanova Said:

    fabulous))!!!!! Great !!! I always afraid to start to try cables, now I will not))

    • I sure hope you try them. I was quite surprised over something so simple!

  4. Lois Stevens Said:

    Thanks so much for sharing. I can’t wait to give this a try.

    • Thank you Lois for letting me know you will try it. I know it is basic and simple but I still am learning this machine too. 🙂

  5. Tanya M Cunningham Said:

    Brilliant! Thanks so much for the slide show and description. No reason this can’t be done on a Japanese machine + ribber, is there? Beautiful results. I’d like to try pushing this concept even further for huge cables. . .

    • I wondered about doing these cables on the Japanese machines also. I too thought about the larger cables . If you try them, please let me know how you come out. In fact, if you try it on the Japanese machine I would like to know also. 🙂

  6. Sigrid Lefebvre Said:

    What happens to the two stiches on either side that you transferred to the BB? Do you just dropp them? In your video they are still on the BB when you are crossing the cables?

    • Hi Sigrid, the two stitches on either side of the cables stay there through the whole knitting of a garment. They are the purl stitches you see on either side of the cables making the cable panel stand out.
      Carol


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

