Passap Mitered Trim for Square Neckline


DSCF2617

 

I really like square necklines but have never done one….go figure!  It has been so hot and humid and I have been trapped inside so I started looking through books that I have. I came across the instructions for a mitered band for a square neckline knitted on the passap in the book Going Places Knitting Technique Passap, designs by Jan Wold and Jan Mills.

I really like how it turned out. It is a lot of moving the needles down the right and left side  of each corner after you decrease at the corner but I would definitely do one on the machine. My girlfriend Sheila could probably knit it faster than it takes me to do it on the machine.No, not probably, she could!

One thing I don’t get is, after you move all the stitches down( and it is done twice over four rows of the decrease) she tells you to take the end most stitch on the bed and transfer it to the other bed and then take the heel of the stitch next to the needle you just emptied and move it to the right(or left) to keep in a one by one sequence. What is happening is that you are actually decreasing two stitches at the corner and then move all the work over and increase one stitch on each end. I get that but if you look at the edge at the shoulder, it curves up and I would not include that curve when I sew the rib together from the back. Maybe it is there to give and edge to sew.

The great thing about a square neck is there is no neckline shaping on the front of the sweater and that is nice if you are doing double jacquard.  I just might make a sweater for myself and try this out. I did not do a good job of picking up the neckline stitches on the side but would definitely pay attention on the real thing. Also, the side of the little sample is knit at a higher tension since I took off the middle stitches on waste yarn and forgot to turn the tension back down. Of course that won’t happen if I knit a sweater for real. haha

This can be done on all machines with a ribber, but be careful of how you hang the body of the sweater before starting to make sure you are on the right side. This sample has the main body of the sweater wrong side facing and hung on the back bed to start.

4 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Looks great. I will be doing that right after the intarsia. Ha, ha.

  2. dthompson@cybernet1.com Said:

    I would like to buy your Passap Stargate Afghan pattern with Instruction. Please advise the cost of the Pattern Thank you very much Gerda Thompson dthompson@cybernet1.com.

    • You have to buy the pattern from Tatiana Knits. This is not my pattern. I will send you the instructions that I am giving out since there are none with her pattern. 🙂 You can find her on Facebook. Look up Tatiana Knits or Tatiana Prodan


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

