Passap Version of the G Carrige design


IMG_20160214_090900087

I am knitting up strips of fabric using the techniques of the passap E6000 for some beginner knitters. I just finished the strip of pin tuck techniques 250 to 255. Six techniques and six different looks. But what surprised me the most was the look of techniques 254 and 255. They look quite similar to the G carriage . It is hard to capture it in the picture but I am referring to the  bottom two samples. In my sample I used 50 stitches and 50 rows.I used pattern 1146.  I made labels that explain what is happening while knitting and the lock settings and pushers used.

The reason I suggest that beginners try this out is because you can’t see the width, length, texture, reverse side of all of these in the pattern book. And, you see all the techniques in one strip for comparison. It makes it so much easier to decide on what pattern and technique if you are making a scarf or garment. It is most beneficial to learn what the machine is doing and to learn the programming of the console at the same time. It also helps to understand when you are knitting, which way the design is facing. This helps with setting the end needles on the bed for knitting.

I have all of these technique labels printed out and ready for you to attach to your strip. I laminated mine because they will go with the machine when I find a new home for it. I will be glad to send them to you but only after you have made the strip . lol

10 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    You are on…but you drive a hard bargain 🙂 !!!!!

  2. Rhonda Hazen Said:

    Great sample on your Passap. I’m sure the new owner will appreciate the samples when machine is sold.

  3. Marvin Luginbuhl Said:

    This is a wonderful idea Carol. I really appreciate all you do for beginners of the Passap. Marv

    On Sun, Feb 14, 2016 at 10:02 AM, Cckittenknitss Weblog wrote:

    > cckittenknits posted: ” I am knitting up strips of fabric using the > techniques of the passap E6000 for some beginner knitters. I just finished > the strip of pin tuck techniques 250 to 255. Six techniques and six > different looks. But what surprised me the most was the look of te” >

    • Hi Marvin, this is what you will see if you make it to our knit in at the end of the month. I have several to show you. Have to make your trip worthwhile. lol If you can’t make it, don’t worry, I will bring them the next time.
      Carol 🙂

  4. rainbird777 Said:

    Knitting up the Techniques as you are doing is a great way to learn the machine. You can also try knitting the techniques without a pattern, just the technique alone to find out what that does. I found some interesting results doing this.

    • Hi, I have knitted just the technique alone. That is what the dishcloth was. Does this mean you can knit all of the techniques by themselves as the stitch pattern?
      Carol ?

      • rainbird777 Said:

        .i don’t know whether you can knit all the techniques without a attorney but you can certainly knit a lot of them. What I used to do was to first try out the technique without yarn just to see what happened to the pushers as you went through the rows, then I would try it with yarn. I think there is one technique that says that it cannot be knitted without a pattern but I think I even knitted that without a pattern. I no lager have a Passap (more fool me!) but I do have a hotocopy of my manual and made a lot of notes in that about the techniques. I am away on vacation for the next two weeks but when I get home I will look at my notes and let you know. As you have said, trying out the techniques is a great way to learn what the machine will do 😀

      • Thank you for this information. I am going to try it. Hope to hear from you when you get back from vacation. Have a good time!
        Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

