I am finished with Lydia!!!


lydiasafghanmistake

I started another afghan in Lydia’s Afghan Series 3. I just took a quick picture with my phone so you can’t see the main color, but the colors are really pretty. The main color is a light tan with specks of turquoise and wine in it. I love the pattern. BUT….it happened again. My pattern went off by a stitch . You can see where it happened where the arrows are. I don’t know that I want to try anymore of her patterns if this is what will always happen. So, my next project will be another afghan just to make sure it is not my knitting machine. What I don’t get is that when I bring the pattern into win/crea, there are no errors in the pattern. So again, machine or pattern?

15 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Still looks so beautiful….I think they would so awesome as rugs…but I sure won’t be trying ! πŸ™‚

  2. Alma Blaikie Said:

    This will be your machine – static – causes this at times. Makes me mad too. The machine can go well for ages even if it has fluff etc round it and then it will jump the pattern. Your other rugs have gone well and I really love your colours. I have not had this happen for ages but we have to be ready for it, a bit like “Error 200”. Love your blog, thanks for allowing us to see your knitting.

  3. k2p2ssk Said:

    That used to happen to me on my E6000, it’s a static electricity thing. A electronic ‘gremlin’ that shifts the pattern during downloading. Judi in Indiana was the one who told me about that. I had to erase the pattern and download it again, then it was fine. I added copper wire and ran it out the window to a piece of rebar in the ground, put in an expensive surge protector to plug everything in to, and it never happened again.

    • Hi, I have never had a problem with static electricity while knitting but it sounds like you are saying it is happening when I download? I download in a computer room and carry the console across the house to my knitting room. It makes sense because I went back and knitted without yarn and the same pushers came up that caused the error. Okay, I will download again and see what happens. I really like that pattern and the yarn I picked for it..
      Thank you!!
      Carol πŸ™‚

  4. Joyce Said:

    I was about to say it must be the machine not the pattern before I read these other comments. Of course I am no where near my Passap in the winter. I would not have thought about the static electricity as I naturally would expect that you have it grounded. Some years ago I had the grounding wire put on as I had trouble with losing the whole pattern. Your colors are very pretty and love the this pattern too. Hope you get it solved cause I love looking at what you create.

    • Hi Joyce, where do you put the grounding wire on the machine? I think the problem is when I download because I can go back to the rows where the error occurs and the same needles are selected that caused the error.
      Thank you!
      Carol πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Joyce, I hope to resolve it soon.
      Carol πŸ™‚

  5. Was the person “Lydia” ever contacted re this problem. Perhaps it is an error in her pattern ??

    • Hi Eva, don’t know where to start to find Lydia. Today I am going to re-download and see if the error still occurs. If it occurs on the same rows, it is the file. I will post if I am successful.
      Carol πŸ™‚

  6. elsa jacob Said:

    Where can I find pattern for PASSAP /WinCrea from Lydia?

  7. Ann Poprdan Said:

    Hi,

    Have you got surge protectors on your power circuit. This is the sort of thing that happens when there is a surge or drop in electricity. I had this happen years ago with my Knitmaster/Silver etc and Design-a-Knit.

    Ann

    (Poprdan)

    Norfolk UK

    • Hi Ann, The knitting machine is plugged into a surge protected outlet. However, when I download from the computer, the console is in regular outlet. So today I will put the console plug in the surge protected outlet also. Thank you,
      Carol πŸ™‚

  8. rainbird777 Said:

    If the pattern is correct when you look at it in Wincrea then the pattern is correct and the fault is most likely caused by a power fluctuation affecting the machine. Most likely is a drop in power, just a momentary glitch would most probably do it. A surge suppressor that is also a power protector, the sort that allows you to shut down your computer properly when you have a power loss, would probably help..

  9. Hi, I have a surge protector for the knitting machine. However, I go to another room where I download from my computer . The computer has a surge protector as well. However, when I plug in the console , I was just using the wall outlet. I have never had this happen in all the time I have had the machine but I will re download today and put the plug in the surge protector. Thanks!
    Carol πŸ™‚


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

