Felted Autumn Messenger Bag


DSCF1300

DSCF1301

This is my latest felting creation. I used the same pattern that I made for another felted purse. That pattern might be in my blog. I saw the idea for the design on the front cover of a knitting magazine. That picture of the front of a sweater just used the two colors of the purse for the leaves. It needed more color so I made my leaves in fall colors. I put swivel hooks on the strap that disconnect. I have a short handle and a longer handle in case someone wants to have a messenger bag. I also put a brown sport zipper in the top for total closure. I also have felted acorns hanging from the hook on the left side of the purse. I had a woman that bought a purse from me with those on it and she said everyone she got a comment from on the purse said they liked the acorns. When I showed her the purse when I first finished, she told me to put the acorns on. The color of the purse is Natures brown and Oatmeal. It is really hard to get a picture of the brown yarn. For the diagonal design I knitted intarsia, decreasing every two rows. I decreased one stitch and knitted two rows, then I decreased two stitches and knit two rows. I continued that way so that the diagonal would go all the way to the right corner in the number of rows I had to work with.

Leave a Reply

