Passap Knitted Ice Skate Ornament with Carpet Stitch cuff


DSCF1087

Okay, I know you were expecting a lot more in knitting from me. The truth is that I want to get knitting more but we are working on our house. I just finished staining all the woodwork for 9 doors and baseboards.

So I was able to play around in between the staining and varnishing. I know I need to get a life when I look at the hours I spent  to get this little ornament knitted. I think it is cute though so time was not wasted. I got the idea from a magazine picture of a felted ice skate. This can be knitted on any machine but you would have to do a different cuff. The cuff is the carpet stitch and I used the stitch ditcher attachment but you don’t need one to do this. It is just faster and easier with one. The great thing about this carpet stitch cuff  is that it curls around the top of the skate body by itself.  I tried making this four times and the best way to knit it is to knit the cuff, take off on waste yarn and then knit the shoe part from the bottom up so you are doing decreases instead of increases. I then Kitchener stitched the cuff to the body, hung the sides on machine with right sides together and bound off and then when I came to the bottom where the waste yarn was I bound off two stitches at a time. Turn in side out and stuff lightly. I made laces with the white yarn. Pompoms would look cute on the ends of the laces. Or you could put a pompom on the toe like I used to do eons ago when I used to roller skate. The yarn I used was called flash I believe. It has a very pretty sparkle to it. The cuff has sparkle in it but it is hard to see in my picture.  If you want to make it here are my pattern instructions in my drop box.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1vt9xm3nvn8s4lp/AADTaPnapAXonAXvUD66_GqGa?dl=0

Leave a Reply

