Passap Afghan with Borders using the Console without Downloading into it.


passapafghanwithborders2

passapafghanwithborders3

passapafghanwithborders4

I

 

 

 

 

 

I have covered this technique before and decided to make another afghan using the console. Well, it took so long to remember that I decided to write the whole technique out ….for your advantage as well as mine. There are two afghans here in the second picture. One is pattern 1144 and the other is 1153. The pattern is programmed in using the console and no downloading from computer. It seems very confusing but it really isn’t. If you print out the directions you can substitute other 40 stitch patterns like patterns 1147,1148,1151,1153 and 1154

You can use any fairisle pattern no matter what the pattern size. If it is a smaller pattern you just have to enter it several more times than a larger one. If you make this you will start to see how it is done. In these afghans the patterns are 40 stitches by 40 rows. On each of the afghans I repeated the pattern 3 times for width and that is 120 stitches. Then I added 9 stitches on each side for the border. You can go wider than that if you want to. I was making a baby afghan. Then I repeated the design 3 times row wise making 160 rows times 3 =480 rows. I did 32 rows of the border at the beginning and at the end. Here are the complete programming directions for you in my drop box.

A WORD TO THE WISE; If this is your first time doing this enter your information on the console. Set up the needles and test the pattern. Start your program .On the border pattern all the needles will be in work. Then push the COR button and agree to 69- and 69 plus for the needles. Then when it tells what row you are on enter row 30 and wait for a reset . Go through that set up and when it says row 30, knit two more rows(that is the border) the blanket design will set up on the last row you knit. You will see 9 side stitches on each side(or ten if the middle design is in work)for the side  borders and all of the needles in the middle will have a pattern. If not there is an error. HOWEVER, if when you program the console says 120 stitches and 160 rows, you should be okay.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mvsffh60yq8erku/AACxhUADz95a3i6ddoEW9dpCa?dl=0

My next sample  will be using technique 187.

 

 

8 Comments »

  1. Tina Said:

    As always thank you for sharing
    Your step by step instructions are perfect for me and I can’t wait to try this at the week end.
    Best wishes Tina

  2. You are welcome Tina. If it helps just one person I am happy. Thank you for letting me know. 🙂

  3. vamps1@verizon.net Said:

    I can’t se

  4. Beth Said:

    Hello, Don’t want to be a pain, but I can not rack my head around how the needles are to be set up. Any chance you can send me a picture? I can’t wait to try this!

    • Hi Beth, if Yuli use this pattern it uses 120stitches. You will set up 60 needles to the left of 0 and 60needles to the right of 0 on the front bed. Then bring up your back bed needless and make sure that both end needless are on the back bed. My computer is being worked on right now so I can’t send a picture at this time. I hope I answered your question. Oh and you are not a pain. 🙂

  5. Connie Said:

    Hello, I’m so inspired by all your beautiful work! I am a beginner on my passap E6000 . I would love to knit the baby afghan lovely . I was wondering why the yarn has to be in feeder 4? why not feeder 1? I am still new to the colour changer. I’m going to give this blanket a try. Thank you for your time and generousity of sharing your talent.

  6. Hi Connie, this little afghan is not the afghan lovely. You can use the first eyelet for knitting the afghan lovely. I can’t remember why the yarn is in feeder four but I did come upon it somewhere in the directions for knitting an afghan with borders and not downloading a pattern. If I have time I will try to find that information. My mind is not what it used to be. lol Thank you for your compliments.
    Carol


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

