I Never Thought I Could Do This


mrshunterspattern

I wanted to find a different knitting pattern to do a dish cloth. I have a huge book of knitting patterns. I was going through this book and I came upon Mrs. Hunters Pattern. The first thing I thought was that this could be done on the machine.(Not as a dish cloth since cotton does not stretch) My first attempt was wrong. So I hand knitted a sample following instructions to see how the stitches were worked. Then I went to the machine and I was able to do it. I used size five needles so the sample is smaller that is hand knitted. Then I used the same yarn on my Bulky at tension 8. The funny thing is how I was able to duplicate a slipped stitch over three knitted stitches for the pattern.

Rows 1 and 2 are knit and purl. Then row three is K1, slip one, knit the next three stitches and take the slipped stitch over the 3 stitches just knitted. Repeat until the end and end with a K1. The pattern is multiples of 4 plus 2 for the end stitches. Then the fourth row is P1, wrap the yarn to increase where the stitch was slipped off in the last row. Then purl three and repeat the row.

So on the machine I just cast on 16 stitches and knitted rows 1 and 2. COR. On row three I took the second stitch off on a one stitch transfer tool and held it in left hand. With a three prong transfer tool I took off the next three stitches . I took the right three stitches and put the whole transfer tool through the one stitch on the left transfer tool. The yarn stretched out nicely . Then I carefully placed the right 3 stitches onto the same needles they came off of. The bottom  part of the stitch is under the three needles and then the top part is laying on top of the needles. You have to lift that top part of the stitch over and down so it is under the needle heads and does not knit.  The three stitches are in the latches. Repeat to the end of the row .  Now on the next row you have to pull the needles out to hold. Set the hold button. Push  the first 4 stitches on the right back into knit position , knit them and then pull out to hold, e wrap the empty needle and put it in hold , push the next 3 stitches to work ,knit them and pull out to hold, e wrap the empty needle  etc. Then I knit 3 rows since the decrease and increase are actually one row.

I know it sounds confusing but basically in hand knitting it is knitting two rows. Row three decreases one stitch every 4th stitch and then row 4 is putting the decreased stitch back in work.

On the machine it is doing the decrease and increase in one row and then knitting 3.  If you are interested in trying this I can write it up and take pictures.  This is just another instance of doing a design on a machine that does not have all the capabilities that other machines have. So once again I was sidetracked but this was fun to figure out.

Now if I try to do other hand knitted patterns,  do you think I should write a book on hand manipulated stitches? Nah, someone probably already did that. (Susan G.) lol

You will have to double click on the picture to see the design close up. I believe you could try this on the passap but it is easier on the Brother Machines since you can pull all the needles out to hold. It would be time consuming on the passap.

4 Comments »

  1. Anne Said:

    I love your work.

  2. kamelone.knits Said:

    I have been planning to do this stitch on my machine as well. Nice to see that it works!

    But I do not think you need to e-wrap the empty needles, so after slipping and wrapping by hand, just knit two rows straight 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

