Watercolors Felted Bag


   FELTED

FELTED

UNFELTED

UNFELTED

My friend Sheila was getting rid of three bags of yarn and asked me if I wanted it. I would be glad to take it off your hands Sheila,  🙂 Inside one of the bags was a hand knitted pattern kit for this felted purse. It is called Watercolors Felted Bags by Annie’s Hook & Needle Kit Club. (Annie’s Attic) 2008. The toggle button was included. It gives both versions of  knit or crochet.  Of course, I converted  to machine knit and I love how it turned out. The pattern calls for three rows of garter stitch at the top and for the 22 bottom rows. I have a chunky garter bar but decided it is faster to knit on needles. So I knitted three rows of garter stitch on size 11 needles and then transferred them to the machine. You start on one side and increase from the top down, knit 22 rows of garter stitch (I used garter bar for the bottom) and continue up the other side and decrease  and end with three rows of garter stitch and then bind off. The first time I ever came across this and I think it is unique is that the handle and the tab are knitted sideways. For the strap you just cast on 88 stitches and knit five rows and bind off. I believe the reason this is done is because you get more shrinkage in length instead of width. I wish I would have measured the strap before felting. The finished size of this is 9 inches in width and 8 inches in height . The handle is 24 inches. The yarn is size 5 chunky. It did not take the whole ball of yarn but I did not weigh the ball of yarn before I started. lol

Here is my converted pattern.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zpcjk688axh0l21/AADyPLyyE3isUgTOpCmzoRyba?dl=0

 

4 Comments »

  1. Andrea Said:

    Your purse is adorable! Thanks for the details.

  2. It turned out very nice!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

