Brother Machine Knitted Mary Jane Bootie


BROTHER KNITTING MACHINE MARY JANE BABY BOOTIES

I was asked if this little passap Mary Jane bootie could be made on other machines like the Studio or Brother. I have a Brother 940 and I thought you should be able to do it. I sat down tonight and tried one on the Brother . It came out the same as the passap version but it took a little longer to do and it is a little larger since the white yarn  is a dress yarn that just happened to be in the mast. The reasons were that I was knitting with black at night and writing down what I was doing .The main reason was that the  passap knits beautifully on either bed with no problems. I find with the Brother machines, that if you want to knit on one bed  with the ribber connected, the stitches don’t always knit off. This is the reason I turned the stitches(bootie) around so that the heel and bottom are done on the main bed instead of the ribber.

The ribbing in knitted first. Then the stitches are arranged for circular knitting. However, you will knit the heel and sole on the main bed and the top of the bootie on the ribber. Then you will knit the toe circular doing decreases on the designated rows on both ends of both beds until a few stitches are left and taken off on the tail of yarn and gathered tightly.

When short rowing for the heel you will drop the ribber bed one notch only and use the main carriage to do the short rowing. When making this you will find that you have to switch from knitting just on the main bed to knitting with both beds about four times.

If you get stuck doing something or my directions don’t make sense,(and that’s a real possibility!) please feel free to contact me . I did not finish the strap on this one. That part is easy .

The directions are in my drop box at the link below. Have fun if you try this. 🙂

 

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/yk6296c1cfrr7pc/AAATT5RKorzbfEqrGCsvK1EVa?dl=0

Leave a Reply

