Learning the Passap – Maintenance of the Passap


DSCF9718

I have a friend in Maine that has been looking for a Passap E 6000 for a couple of years. She found one on Craigs List that was only 20 minutes from my home. My friend and I went and looked at it and bought it . I brought it home and started cleaning it up. I found two good articles in Machine Knitters Source called Maintenance and Basic Repairs part one and two by Pat Groves. The great thing is that it also covers changing of the brake spring on the back and front beds. The articles are in Machine Knitters Source Winter 2002 Vol.19 N. 112 and Spring 2003 Vol. 19, No 113.

In between cleaning the new passap, my friend came over and we changed the brake spring on my passap on the back bed. I had damaged the spring on needle 82 on the back bed and could not knit wide afghans until it was fixed. It was very easy and I decided to clean the beds on that one too. It was not that dirty and the needles were clean. So I put the spring in and put the rail back on and turn it over to tighten the screws and I hear a crunch. I look down and there is my good pair of glasses with the right and left arms at 90 degree angles to the lenses!!! One  broke off but I  was able to bend the other one back without breaking. I can see well up close and took them off and set them down right in front of the passap beds.  So much for an inexpensive repair.

So now  I lift the bed up and put it back on my machine and there is a part laying there. OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.. I email my friend and take a picture and she did not know what it was. It was on the side where the color changer was. Well….this morning I figured out what it was. lol  It was a silver tip of one of the black yarn carriers that must have been in the color changer or between the beds. Problem solved. Now I have to go see what can be done with the glasses. Probably a new pair or new frame. 😦

So, back to the newer passap. I have it all cleaned and oiled and it is running. I decided to knit the techniques for my friend and label them so she can see what the techniques do and all the different widths and reverse sides of the fabrics. I knit a strip and then separated it with two rows of white. Here is the first strip I knitted. I put down the tension, rows, technique, mast number. Then I laminated them and attached to the strip. I did this when I bought  my own machine . I did it to learn the machine and to see the fabrics.  It comes in handy when you want to make a scarf or sweater  and want to see what the reverse side looks like and if the design is light and airy or more solid.  I am only doing the double bed techniques since my friend has a DM80 and knows the single bed techniques. I would recommend doing this for everyone that has a passap but especially to learn how to use the passap if you are a beginner.

5 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    My ! What a lucky friend you have !!!!! 🙂

  2. Mary Said:

    What would you clean rust off a machine with please as I have rescued three very old Passaps and a Knitmaster from the tip!!!

    • Hi Mary, I used a product recommended for knitting machines called LPS 1 that I bought on Amazon. It was on you tube cleaning a passap. I just ordered the lubricant on Amazon today. The needles I soaked in denatured alcohol. In the video they suggested a brass wire brush from an auto store to clean the rust off. Hope this helps.
      Carol 🙂

      • Mary Said:

        Hi Carol
        Thank you for those suggestions, I will have a look on Amazon.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

