Passap Ribbing 1×1 using CX/CX


DSCF9292DSCF9300

DSCF9304

DSCF9308

It is a nice beautiful snowy day and hubby and the dog are resting up for the Bucks and Ducks game. So I had a chance to go to my woman cave and look through some articles I have in a folder. The article is by Sylvia Jones called Pursuing Passap Possibilities. And…..OMG!!!! I wish I had this passap years ago. I never liked 1×1 ribbing on any of my sweaters. I switched to 2×1 over the  years.  Well now I can go back to it.

Here is what you do: You cast on tubular. We all know how to do that. 1 rowN/N,2 rows CX/CX, 1 row  N/N.

At ribbing tension you will knit two rows of N/N. Then the next two rows are CX/CX. Repeat those two steps and you will be amazed at the outcome. It gives stretch and body to the ribbing. It has a unique look like a waffle.  It actually pulls in to make it more firm but not stiff. I started with a sample of white yarn and left it on the comb to show the waffle look. You can see the lines across the fabric that are the CX/CX rows. So then I decided to do one in two colors and the second color would be the CX rows to show you better. Well now, look at that nice two colored stipe fabric with nice edges and no loops at the edge where the second color changes . And the fabric is the same on both sides . This would work well as a scarf but I would go much looser on the tension. I used tension 5. This would also be great for people that make socks on the passap with a 1×1 rib.

If you use a lot of 1×1 in your garments I strongly encourage you to give this a try. And if you don’t , give it a try anyway and you may like it. I know I do.

This can be done on the Brother machine using the part buttons and I imagine it can be done on others as well.

10 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Does look nice. It never would have occurred to me to keep going with the same settings as the cast on…who knew ! Good thing we have snowy days to read, eh? 🙂

  2. Tina Said:

    This looks great!
    Can’t wait to try it, I love the fact that your so experimental with your machines
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thank you Tina, it is nice to have the time now to fool around with my machines. I learn something new every day. I am still in awe of the master mind behind them.
    🙂

  4. Sigrid Said:

    I tried out the 1 x 1 rib but have large loops on the side nearest the lock, always with No. 2 colour The loops are 6-7″ long – all the same length. Any idea what I’m doing wrong? Sigrid

    • Hi Sigrid, first of all I move my work over to the right side of the bed so the loops won’t be large. Second , tighten up your mast tension a notch. Third, just before knitting with that color, pull up the slack by hand before knitting across . Hope this helps.
      Carol 🙂 I a
      P.S. I am so glad that you tried it!

  5. Jacqueline Said:

    This rib is fantastic,it will be nice for neck bands as well ,its look very professional .

  6. Good idea!

  7. Tanya Said:

    Love this technique, and great photos. I will have to file that one in the “must try” book. Thanks!

    • You’re welcome. I just thought of how I don’t like double ribbing on hats and now I would do a rib like this and it would be nice and stretchy.
      🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

