Passap E6000 Fishermans Rib Scarf


DSCF9001DSCF9009

My girlfriends’ grand daughter asked her if she would make her a scarf that wrapped around the neck several times. My girlfriend Sheila came up with this and told me I could share it with you.  It is done on the Passap E 6000 using technique 112 which is Fisherman’s rib. The settings are EX/KX. Pushers on the front bed only.  I set up 17 working needles (Every Other Needle)  on both beds. I used a cast on tension of 4, CX/CX tension 5 and N/N row tension 6. Then changed to 7…/7… on both beds and knitted 800 rows. The mast tension was 5.5 on the first mast. My girlfriend used a different yarn 2/17 I believe it was and she cast on 21-0-21 on both beds with a tension of 5. She knitted 800 rows also. The scarf is 88 inches long and can be longer if you want it to fall further down on your chest.  Every time you wrap this scarf (3 times) it looks different but very nice. It is soft and does not feel like it is smothering you.

I found a yarn at Michaels store that I never saw before. It is called Woolike by Loops and Threads. It is 3.5 ounces and 678 yards. 85% acrylic and 15% nylon. It is $2.99 but it is on sale now for $1.99. What a great price for a thin yarn that can be used on our knitting machines.  It feels soft and knits nicely on the passap. You can even go lower on the tension but this scarf I wanted nice and airy. I just sewed the seam with a weaving because it will not show once you wrap the scarf three times around your neck. One skein was enough to knit 800 rows with yarn leftover.  You can use one strand of 2/24 also.

The gray scarf was done at a tension of 6 and the cranberry scarf was done at a tension of 7…

Here is a detailed pattern if you need it at my drop box.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/go0mv8l3xpv6xhx/FISHERMANSRIBSCARF%20USINGWOOLIKE%20YARN.docx?dl=0

 

DSCF9020

 

 

 

11 Comments »

  1. Sherry Said:

    This is so beautiful and timely! I also just discovered the wool like yarn works well on the Passap, and it was discussed this morning on the Knitting Paradise site. Thanks for sharing the pattern and techniques.

    • Carol Said:

      You’re welcome Sherry. I did not see the discussion on today’s knitting paradise posting. I will have to go look. It is a great yarn and nice that you can knit it on the passap and save shipping cost buying it locally.
      Carol 🙂

  2. Valery Roberts Said:

    May I please ask how many skeins did you use? I just bought the yarn and have some and I am new to Passap knitting and did a test with it and it is so soft and beautiful. You are a big help to me right now with instructions that I think I understand. I have only had 4 lessons. Not much to work with. But I am so EXCITED TO USE YARN+PASSAP.
    Thank you so much,
    Valery Roberts

    • Carol Said:

      Hi Valerie, it took less than one skein. Of you would like me to write out the pattern in detail, just let me know.
      Carol
      🙂

      • Valery Roberts Said:

        Really?? That’s it? Uh OH…I bought a bunch thinking it might take 2-3 balls for 1 project. If you can assist me in any way I would So Much Appreciate any help. I really love that yarn and the Passap does so well with it. Everybody seems to love knitted items right now. I am still working on holiday projects because everybody just loves scarves. With that price how can I say, “No”? 1 wow that is awesome. Thanks so much and Happy New Year!
        Valery

  3. I am the assistant editor for the Carolina Knitting machine guild. Could I possibly have permission to post your pattern in our newsletter? We obviously give you credit for the pattern.

    • Absolutely! I am all for helping out in any way to help people with this knitting machine hobby. My girlfriend Sheila is responsible for the pattern. 🙂
      Carol 🙂

      • Great! My editor is out with family issues but I will let her know that you gave permission. Lorri

      • BJ Said:

        Carol I would like to put both your names on the pattern if you would please contact me at bj4crafts at hot mail dot com

      • Great, okay with us. Anything to help people learn the art of machine knitting.
        Carol 🙂

      • BJ Said:

        if you would like your complimentary copy of the newsletter please email me at the address I commented above!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

