Felted Pocket Purse with Fun Fur Trim


Felted funfirpocketpursef

It is a rainy gloomy day here in Ohio and of course that tells me to go to my knitting room and get happy. I was tired of working on a baby jacket so I decided to do a quick project and I love the way it turned out. And….I guessed at the number of stitches and  rows to use.

I was in the store the other day and I saw a young girl with a small purse that her hand went through the opening and she held the cord. It did not hang down much where she was holding the cord. So off I go to try something. I was shooting for a little smaller so it was just a little bigger than a cell phone but I like this size. It is 8 inches wide and 8 inches high. There is a small loop on the front part of the purse and a longer loop on the back of the purse. The long loop goes through the small loop for closure.

I used Paton’s wool yarn. It takes a whole ball. The second color is called Pelt Pelt Red Fox.  I used the Bulky Brother Machine. I used 36 stitches and 62 rows. 20 rows are the top fairisle design. At first I just knitted the wool with the fun fur but it was too bulky and could not see if the stitches knitted off. So I did a fairisle design that is every other stitch on first row and every other opposite stitch on the next row. Brother I believe has a punch card for this. I entered it electronically on mine using four stitches and two rows. Took two seconds to do that.

The fun fur really shines and is so silky looking . It has black and the red in it. Hard to capture in a picture. The fun fur is called Pelt by Lion Brand and the color is Red Fox.

 

Here is the pattern I wrote up if you would like to try it. This purse looks elegant if you saw it here. It can also be cutesy with all the different yarns out there.

This pattern is not to be used for machine production or sold as your pattern.

 

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/lj6gc8iu54mpd7a/AAApnH1pMxiw1RoH3xy2Dekha?dl=0

5 Comments »

  1. BJ Said:

    The purse is beautiful! What make is the fun fur? It is a gorgeous colour and has such a shine to it!

    • Hi BJ, I can’t find the label! I searched for it and could not find it. I got the name of the color from my receipt. I bought it from Joann Fabric store. When I go back I will get the name of it.
      Carol 🙂

    • Hi BJ I found the label for the fun fur yarn. It is called Pelt by Lion Brand and the color is called Red Fox.
      Carol 🙂

  2. Jill Said:

    Dear people

    I have just knitted this purse from the pattern you kindly provided. However, I cannot see any reference to it being sewn together, nor do I understand why you cast on an extra 6 stitches each side on the front – is this a gusset? Do you sew it together before you felt it? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks Jill Rashleigh in South Australia

    • Hi Jill, yes you sew it together before felting. Knitting the extra stitches on each side gives the purse a rounded shape after felting but most important it gives you room between the front and the back so you can put items in without the purse bulging. When you sew it together, it will look square with a bottom and sides. Hope this helps.
      Carol


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

