Putting a Zipper into Knits


puttingzipperinknitsputtingzipperinknitsa

OMG!!! How unique. Now this is the best way I have seen to put a zipper in knits. I found the site on pinterest this morning. You can go to the site and it is in Swedish but it is also translated into English. She has this sewing of zipper outlined step  by step with pictures. I just grabbed a swatch of fabric and a zipper to give it a try. In a nutshell, you will use the latch tool to crochet up the zipper. then you take a piece of the fabric yarn and sew the purl stitches of the sweater to the zipper stitches that you crocheted in. I can’t wait to try this. I just guessed on the crocheting and did not make loops perfect like hers since this was just a test. I also did not use matching yarn obviously. 🙂 And…the zipper opens past the knit without catching the knit fabric. It looks so much nicer than sewing with a machine!

You have to try this!

 

http://frogknitting.blogspot.se/2013/08/att-sy-i-dragkedjor-installing-zippers.html?m=1

 

 

6 Comments »

  1. Heidi Said:

    thank I have seen this before but did have anything to put the zipper in thanks for the site and a good way of putting in a zip!

  2. sunstorm59 Said:

    Thank you so much for this link. I will definitely have to try this. You are so inspiring, I love your blog!

    • Thank you so much. Have to go pour cold water on my head to keep it from swelling! lol 🙂

  3. angela Said:

    Brilliant!, thank you

  4. Anne Said:

    Thank you sooo much . I hate the way it looks with the sewing machine, even some hand sewing. Thank You again.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

