Autumn Leaves Felted Purse with Acorns


front side of purse

 

back side of leaf purseDSCF7690

I got side tracked. What else is new? I had a very nice lady from Georgia  buy a felted purse and mouse and felted slippers from my Etsy store. She wanted a purse for fall . She asked if the length of the handle could be adjusted. She got me thinking and all of a sudden I came up with a fall design and adjustable handles.  First I knitted the fronts and backs in Intarsia. Did I tell you I hate intarsia work? Each side took me well over five hours. I found some swivel hooks that could attach to the purse.This way, she can change the handle to different lengths.  I sewed up the purse and went off to felt-the fun part. It took at least fifteen minutes to felt to this size.  When the purse was dry, I needle felted the veins on the leaves. Another 4 hours. lol  While I was needle felting I remembered on my other felted purse that I did a felted acorn. Well, my friend from Craft Gossip web site had given me a whole bag of felted acorns she made and I thought they would look cute hanging from the side. I had to get my drill out to drill holes in them to get the yarn through to hang them.  Then I was going to put two magnetic clasps for closure but did not have any left in my stash. I did have this closure which was more expensive And  I think it looks better on this purse.

Now the strap. Oh brother…..I did not want to do an “I” cord because the handle comes out round. I wanted more of a flat strap. I just knitted ten stitches plain and felted and it looked awful.  I was laying in bed and in the morning I wondered about knitting circular , no seam and it should lay flat. So I made a short one and felted in my table top felter. Yep, that works. I went back and went to knit it and realized I did not have a whole lot of yarn left. Uh, oh, better get this right. Meanwhile, the woman who bought the other items asked if she could see it. Yep, she wanted it. So I emailed her for the length she wanted and that was a good thing. When I felted the strap I wanted 19 inches in length because the swivel hook on each side took up 3 inches. I took it out at 21 and decided to put it in the dryer and eureka!!!! It went to the correct size.

So I went to the post office today so she can take this purse on her trip to see her sister.

The pattern I made up is in my drop box if you want to make it. I made the designs in DAK and then printed from DAK. I printed them out and scanned them and put them in the drop box. If you have trouble reading them I can save the file as a bmp or jpg and email it to you.

Well, I need to get back to the dog afghan but I have another idea for a felted purse. 🙂

Must be the cooler weather coming.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/itshxo9c5duhqca/AADOFKIwGFWhXOofEj2LKOZia?dl=0

8 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    She will indeed be overjoyed with this ! A lot of time on your part, but it came out really nice.

  2. Lois Stevens Said:

    I love your bag. I love the fall theme and the hanging acorns. Lovely

  3. Helen Fox Said:

    Fabulous felted bag. Well done.

  4. Sharon's Keepsakes Said:

    Love this purse and anxious to try!

    • Hi Sharon, I hope you try it. It is one of my favorites and I was almost tempted not to sell it. IF I make another, I would keep it for sure.
      Carol 🙂
      Let me know if you make it.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

