Christmas In July


spinsisterwinebottlecoveronthesockmachine

My hubby is home from the hospital so now I can play around. My friend in Maine sent me a cone of sock yarn that is cream in color and you can dye it. She had been talking about dyeing yarn so I asked her about it. I tried it with food coloring but I want to get to the real dyes now. Well, yesterday I looked at an email and their was a message for sock patterns on the circular sock machine. I went to this site

http://www.thespinsister.com/freepatterns.htm

and found this adorable wine bottle cover done on the sock machine. The problem was that I did not have sock yarn in red or green. Oh, I know, I can wind off the small amount of the yarn my friend bought me and dye it!! So last night I was up until 12:30 dyeing the red and green amounts of yarn. Today, it was dry and I knitted this wine bottle cover. I have to tell you a couple of things. First of all I would end the last two rows doubling up stitches and then knit two rows and take off on tail of yarn. Minor detail but it is easier gathering less stitches. Second, you can knit this much, much, much ,faster (lol) on the flat knitting machine but not doing the body of it circular. For machine knitters you can just do the ribbing , go right into the body. Change the colors for the bands and hang the hems  and continue to the end. Then you just have to sew the seam. Granted, I love this without the seam and it is finished when you take it off of the machine. It was so nice of this lady to give this pattern for free. She did all the hard work figuring length of rib and body on the 72 needle cylinder! I just had fun knitting it AND dyeing the yarn! And what are the odds of me having a bag of jingle bells since I have decluttered my knitting room. 🙂

 

6 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    AND WHAT COULD I SAY BUT WOW !

    • Hey, I owe it to you. You got me started on the sock machine and the fun of dyeing yarn.And that yarn you bought me knits beautifully!
      Thank you friend! 🙂

  2. Gill Pearson Said:

    This makes a really nice Christmas gift incl the placemat.

    • Hi Gil, I have to tell you that it is not a place at. It is a Christmas hand towel. 🙂

  3. Richard Hanson Said:

    Glad your hubby is home again, and I hope resting well. Thanks for the pattern looking forward to trying it.  I belong to a spinners,weaving group as well as  the local knitting machine group.  They have mentioned the cool aide   process of dying yarn as well as using plant dies and other that are purchased.  The cool aide process sounds so much easier to me. So much to learn and being a craft aholic keeps m sewing/knitting/spinning room in a mess too.

    Always look forward to your blogs and patterns. Have a great weekend.

    Kathy quiltldy

    • Hi Kathy, thank you. Hubby has to go back in hospital for one more procedure and then I think he will be on the recovery road.
      I will try the koolaide too for dyeing. I used food coloring. Not messy at all. It is weird to see the color go into the yarn and the water comes out clear. There are videos on you tube on how to do it.
      Like you I am expanding in crafts and running out of room!
      Thank you for your compliments also. My head is swelling! lol
      Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

