Passap E6000 Water Bottle Sling


Water bottle carrier

Water bottle carrier

Bottom of water carrier

Bottom of water carrier

Well, my husband is back in the hospital again so I have to put the vest that I am making on the passap  on hold. I do have both fronts of it done . I have the back to do and a collar so I did not want to rush it.

Anyway, awhile back I saw this pattern for a water bottle sling and thought how nice it would be since I am always carrying a bottle around. The pattern is by Nell Abshire, The Afghan Queens and it is in Machine Knitters Source  Sept/Oct of 1998 Vol 15, no. 86. This holds a 20 ounce bottle of water.

It is such a shame the picture is not in color in the book because it does not do the pattern justice. It knitted out to be the prettiest honeycomb design.  The pattern calls for Diamonte which I have up the gazoo..lol. I chose a bright pink for breast cancer awareness. This can be made on the DM80 and other machines that have the ability to tuck stitch.

It starts with 60, 30Land 30R on both beds. Set up in one by one rib. Rib for 20 rows tension 3. Transfer all stitches to the front bed . On the E6000 the pattern used is 1000 and technique 130 . You knit 120 rows of design at tension 5 and then two rows plain. Stitches are transferred to the back bed and 14 rows are knitted of stockinette. Then transfer every other stitch to the next needle to decrease to 30 stitches. Knit two rows and decrease again to 15 stitches and knit two rows. Take off on bodkin and gather stitches for the bottom. Sew up the side.

The band is just circular rows on 8 needles(4 on front bed and four on back bed) At tension five you knit circular for 400 rows  which is 800. Nice to have a motor for that. I used tension 4.. for my cord instead of five. Attach the cord and go put a bottle in and go for a walk. 🙂

Now I want to make a ribbed one on my sock machine!

 

6 Comments »

  1. Lois Stevens Said:

    I LOVE this. Everyone needs a water bottle carrier and this one is beautiful. Thank-you for sharing.
    Lois

  2. Susan McBean Said:

    It is super sweet !!!

  3. That looks beautiful in hot pink! I have one of these that a friend made years ago out of natural colored cotton. I love it, but its strap kept stretching. Your strap looks more stable!
    Thank you for the pattern.

  4. I am going to try this. Looks great. Is it best in cotton and about what ply of other. Thanks for a great pattern

  5. Linda Lanese Said:

    Very cool Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

