Same Idea, Different Look


4StitchCablebuttonholes

Thelma Viers    Buttonhole

Thelma Viers Buttonhole

Okay, I tried again. This time I started the band on waste yarn and took it off on waste yarn and then attached it to the fabric. I decided not to cross the stitches when starting so it did not pull in. The look is different but the band lays flat. It is a little decorative but I am not totally happy with it.  The second picture is the buttonhole that I love. When it comes off the machine, no loose ends or sewing to do. They come out perfect.

The way to cross 8 stitches came out to be easy when I did it this way. When I wanted to cross the stitches I hand knitted the 8 stitches with ravel cord  and put needles all the way out of work. I hung a small weight below the stitches and slightly pulled so all the needles came into work. I took two 4 prong tools and removed all 8 stitches. I crossed the right to the left. Then I pulled on the ravel cord end on the right  and the stitches go back onto the needles on the left. Then I crossed the remaining four and put on the right needles. I pulled the ravel cord on the left and used a transfer tool to put it back on the needle. Then I continued with the next one. On the last needle you will have the ravel cord with the two ends in your hand. When you pull both ends, the stitch will appear and lift it with the transfer tool and put on last needle. Then I hand knit one row with an extra piece of yarn so it is not hard on machine to knit the next row. If anyone wants pictures of this I will gladly do over and take pictures. Just email me.

 

4 Comments »

  1. Andrea Said:

    I think the bands are equally pretty. The red yarn seems to make the second band extra special (red just happens to be one of my favorite colors)! I would like to see pictures of the techniques you used. Thanks for taking the time to share your talent and passion with us.

    Andrea

    • Hi Andrea, You’re welcome. By the way, we have something in common besides knitting. Red is my favorite color also! I have a red car, red cell phone, red nook cover……..lol
      I posted how to cross the 8 stitch cable for you. If you want to see the buttonhole and the whole band, just email me and I will do that also.
      Carol 🙂

  2. pg frenchak Said:

    Hi, If you do take photos of this technique I would like to see them. That is a beautiful buttonhole band.

    Thanks, pam

    • Hi Pam, When my husband gets out of the hospital I plan on showing that buttonhole step by step with instructions and pictures. The first one will be a single buttonhole. Then I will do a band with at least three buttonholes. I have been doing this buttonhole for years and when you finish the band the buttonholes will be totally done. Hopefully it won’t be longer than two weeks. Then when you master the buttonholes, you can try the cable crossing.
      Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

