Good Idea, Bad Result! lol


2stitch buttonhole

2stitch buttonhole

4stitch buttonhole

4stitch buttonhole

 

I was looking for a hand manipulated lace design in Susan Guagliumi book and I saw a cable with holes in it. I thought, why not do a button hole band with the holes in the cables for the buttons. Well, first of all I put the hole in the middle of the cable instead of around the sides like she did.  Second, I hung the fabric and then knitted the band. To do this with more stitches between cables, I would knit the band and then attach to the garment.  I absolutely love Thelma Viers buttonhole band. It is the only one that I have used for years. It is so professional looking and the buttonhole is finished when you take the band off of the machine. I used her technique to put the buttonholes in. Of course, the band has a back so the back has to have the hole in it also. I won’t go into detail on the rest since the result is not so good. The first picture I just did a 6stitch cable and made the two middle stitches the buttonhole. Too small. Would only be able to use very small buttons as in picture. On the second picture I made 8 stitch cables (figured a good way to cross them over with minor difficulty) Then I made the buttonhole 4 stitches. Well, onto another failure….I mean project. lol

6 Comments »

  1. Maris Said:

    Actually, I like the band.

  2. Well that makes me feel like my time wasn’t wasted!
    🙂

  3. fmcelroy@aol.com Said:

    I love being inspired by all of your posts. It encourages me to try “just playing around” with my machines too! Rita in Raleigh

    machine-knitting-in-raleigh.blogspot.com Carolinas Machine Knitters Guild Triangle Machine Knitters

    • It is funny how you feel like you wasted so much time when it does not work, but if it encourages you, it makes it worthwhile!
      🙂
      Thank youfor your comment!

  4. Andrea Said:

    What an ingenious idea! Is this from the Hand Manipulated Stitches book? If so, I’ll have dust it off and experiment with this band.

    • Hi Andrea, I saw the cable on page 218 of Susan’s book and just thought of a buttonhole . Of course, I moved the hole to the middle of the cable and tried a band . That book is worth its weight in gold.
      🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

