Primitive Folksy Felted Purse


DSCF5988a

I found this hand knitting pattern and liked it. So I converted it to machine knitting but made it larger. Well…it does not look like the original. The sides were going to have a pleat but it did not felt well. So I was able to steam the pleat out and the shape is much nicer. I needle felted the circles and sewed the brown “beads” on top of each circle. Then I added a tassel of the beads to the left side. I decided to make the handle with the beads in it. I knitted 20 rows of 3 needle “I” cord and put a bead in and continued till I had 200 rows. I felted  it in my table top felter and when I took it out it looked like a native necklace! Not sure if I liked it and  then I noticed that the finish had come off of the beads and they were very dull. Can’t use that and it was just as well.  So I went back and knitted another “I” cord and started and finished each end with 16 rows of stockinette to act like a tab on each side. I added a magnetic clasp for closure so it would not look funny with a button along with the design. I was happy when I started this and wrote everything down so I could share the pattern with you …ha, ha,ha…..what a waste of time. Not worth making it like this again.

4 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Well it looks great to me ! 🙂

  2. Thank you Nurse Susie, It was a lot of work for what it turned out to be. lol 🙂

  3. Linda Lanese Said:

    Very cute! Are you putting it in your shop?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

