Hemmed Tuck Stitch Scarf on the Passap


DSCF5597

DSCF5596

Yesterday was a play day on my machines. This is another project in my Things to Try Notebook. This is a pattern by Maggie Bordner of Toledo, Ohio. Well , she might not be there now since this pattern is so old.

The scarf is started with 60 stitches. It is a 28 row hem. Once you hang the hem, you take the 7th stitch on each side and move it to the 6th stitch and move #7 needle out of work. On the next row you will ewrap 7 stitches on carriage side and knit one row and ewrap 7 stitches on the carriage side and knit one row. Then you isolate your pattern on the middle stitches in between the needles that are out of work. A lace pattern was suggested but since I was doing this on the passap I did not want to try to learn that quickly. I was mainly interested in seeing how this technique looked.  I set up for a tuck stitch but should have set the pattern in by 2 needles more. The needle left out of work had twisted strands of yarn from a tuck stitch next to it. I also had to pushe the needles that were added on for the border into work every row because they would not knit without the pushers and I did not want the pattern on them either. Will have to study that more. I know I could have used the console and added three patterns but again, I wanted to see how this came out. You knit all the way to the end. Then you take the end stitch on each side off on a safety pin and  bind off six stitches on the next two rows. Those are the bands that fold over and get latched up for closure. You put all of the needles in work and knit one marking row for hanging a hem. You knit 14 rows, one turning row at looser tension and then 14 more rows. Hang a hem and bind off.  Then I steamed the sides so when unraveling the end stitch, the others don’t come with it! You undo all the stitches to the beginning and latch tool each stitch between the ladders all the way to the top. You will have to go through every two ladders to make it come out right. Once I got the hang of it, it wouldn’t take that long to do the sides.

The fabric that came out does drape nicely but it looks to me like it is unbalanced. Does that make sense. It seems the borders are heavier than the actual scarf. Even a lace would feel the same way. If I were to use this on a scarf, I would only do a 6 row hem on each end and do fringe. And then on the sides I would narrow it down also. It might be harder to latch up in between the ladders but I think it would make the scarf look better. In the picture, the one side is perfect. Of course, I don’t like the right side of the fabric. The tuck side looks nice. Also, when you are at the beginning and knitting two rows to add the side stitches, I would start the design. You can see the two rows of stockinette before the pattern begins. But, since the scarf would be long and moving while wearing, I don’t think anyone would notice.

This would be easier on the Brother machines. I had to use the front bed for the design on the passap and it made hanging a hem a little harder.

Now, where I see this being used is on an afghan for a border! It would look great on a baby afghan. You need to have room on each end to add the extra stitches. If you want to try this and need more details,  email me. 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. Lois Stacey Said:

    Hi Carol,
    Could you send me the instructions for the plain border please
    Thanks Lois


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

