Fern Leaf Border for Afghan or Jacket


Fernleafborder001

I have a notebook with many patterns that I want to try. I came across this one and decided to try it since I love leaf patterns. There was no picture with this pattern. I started to do the pattern and was going to change each leaf color but I did not see a leaf appearing as I knitted. So I stayed with the solid color. I don’t see it myself but it is a FERN leaf. I have ferns in my yard and they don’t look like this. lol

Maybe it looks different because I used the Bulky machine. This can be done on any machine.

If I thought it looked great it would be nice to finish an afghan off if the edges rolled. I see this kind of border for someone with a bond or very basic machine where you can only hand manipulate stitches. Or if you were knitting a scarf in stockinette stitch and wanted this on the edges to prevent rolling. It might look nice done on the standard gauge mahcines

If you want to try it and want the pattern go to this link. The leaf edge is knitted as you go attaching it to the afghan every other row.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/bzhxrbu2ak94txq/UTJeMIPeJ_

I do not see an authors name or copyright on this pattern. It might have been in one of the seminar books I have.

9 Comments »

  1. Charlene Said:

    I can see that knit around the bottom of a hat (facing upwards) or knit around the edge of a scarf. It could be useful, if not the most decorative of embellishments.

    • See, I knew someone could see more uses for it than I could! I think this is something that you could play with to come up with a better leaf too. Don’t know that I have that time to play. lol 🙂

  2. Linda Lanese Said:

    That looks pretty Carol. You got your Internet back?

  3. Mary-Ellen Said:

    Hi CC. Was looking for a leafy border to put around a hand knit ‘Falling Leaves’ afghan and fell upon this Fern Leaf pattern. Loving it, kind of labour intensive slower than other borders I have made, but well worth it. I was wondering if you would allow me to make a video of it for YouTube.
    Thanks for sharing, have a Terrific Day!!!
    Mary-Ellen

    • Hi Mary-Ellen, Sure, I don’t have a problem with it. Just don’t take credit for the pattern as yours or mine. I have no clue who the author is or if it had a copyright. I sure would love to see the video when you finish it. 🙂

      • Mary-Ellen Corriveau Said:

        Thank you…shall post it here when it is done.

    • Hi Mary-Ellen, Sure, that would be fun to see. Just don’t take credit for the pattern or give me credit since I don’t know where the pattern came from or the author. Please send me a link of the video when you finish. Thanks,
      Carol 🙂

      • Mary-Ellen Said:

        Hi Carol: Sorry I did not get to make the video, now my KM is on the fritz, but have to finish the border, ergo I figured out how to hand knit it. Should I post it here, or just go ahead and to it on my own? or can we do it in tandem, ie Knitting Machine version and Hand Knit version?

        PS I do not have a website
        Mary-ellen


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

