Felted Slippers using Diana Sullivan’s pattern


DSCF5460

If you are going to try felting Diana Sullivan’s sew as you go lined slippers, here are some more suggestions. This is a woman’s medium size. I added four more stitches , two on each side to allow for more felting without getting too narrow. I will add 6 stitches when I do them again. I used tensions 7 and 8, 8 for the outer layer. I was not sure if I had enough cream color to do the whole lining so I just used it when I did the toe shaping. If you make these I would also tell you to stitch the seam closed with a piece of matching yarn so you don’t get lines. I used the seam to needle  felt the stems so they matched. The wool I used was Paton’s.  The roving is a blend of yellow, orange and green giving the petals a different shade from each other. I can’t tell you how light and good these feel on your feet. I think they feel lighter because you don’t feel side seams.  They will be for sale in my Etsy shop and will have rubber circles on the bottom where the ball of the foot and the heel of the toe are so they don’t wear out. In fact, I put the rubber circles on the bottom of the ones I made in brown with the poppy  and you don’t even feel that they are there. These slippers take about 6 ounces of yarn.

16 Comments »

  1. Bonnie Said:

    So cute! You do wonderful work. Love seeing your projects.

    • Thank you! My hubby said the color is ugly. What does he know huh? I love lime green and orange together. Those colors look good on people with nice tans too!
      So, are you going to try making these? 🙂

      • Bonnie Said:

        Yes, but not any time soon. I am fighting with my Passap E6000. Had a spare machine, took it apart to deep clean and the front lock miss selects pushers during the 97 cast on test. So I used my lock from my other machine (the good one) and now when I put it back on the good machine it is miss selecting there but it worked ok on the spare machine. I am stumped. Will look at it again tomorrow, had enough for today LOL!

  2. Rita Said:

    Bonnie took the words right out of my mouth. Those are so cute!

  3. Susan McBean Said:

    I will just say they are fetching ! I love how you did the stems !!!! They sure don’t look the same felted as when you showed them back a few blogs ago….I thought they looked as though they had seams across the top !
    Not ready to try them yet…I will save you the question 🙂
    S

  4. jane Said:

    I think these slippers are lovely! I have not tried to do any felting,,, but watching your various blogs, seems to be a motivator! Thank-you for sharing!

    • I could not stand felting until my friend Linda from Craft Gossip blog showed me how to do it . Now I love it. Thank you for your compliment! 🙂

  5. Linda Lanese Said:

    OMG! these are stunning ♥

    • Really ? I take that as a big compliment from an artist like you! You gave me the roving that the flowers are made out of. Do you remember? 🙂

  6. Linda Lanese Said:

    Jim has no sense of color 🙂

  7. Very cute. I just made a pair for my sister out of purple and brown roving. She is tickled pink. Your pictures helped with the SAYG. The only thing I did different was to use bobby pins instead of thread. Thank you so much for posting the pictures.

    • Hi Judith. Thank you. I bet yours were pretty. I gave my first pair to my sister and she was tickled pink too! Have you made a pair for yourself yet?

      • Not yet. I just bought more yarn. I plan to make some for my grand daughters as well.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

