Diana Sullivan’s Sew as You Go Lined Slippers


Felted Slipper Side View

Felted Slipper Side View
After Felting-Size 8

After Felting-Size 8

 

Knitted Larger-Before Felting

Knitted Larger-Before Felting

 

After getting frustrated with trying that technique on my passap I had to walk away. I didn’t walk far though. I decided to sit on the floor and go through stacks of things that I hadn’t filed yet. I came across my hand out from the seminar I went to last September featuring Diana Sullivan . Her sew as you go lined slippers were so cute just knitted. While I was looking at them I decided to try to felt them. I knitted them on the Bulky machine using Natures brown wool and oatmeal for the liner. I used tension 7 for the liner and 8 for the outer part. I was doing well until it came to knitting the last triangle to sew as you go to close them and finish. I had a hand out sheet that was a little harder to do without the whole book and pattern and no pictures. So I left it on the machine and went back to it this morning. I decided to go ahead and knit and see what came out. I figured it out but had picked up the wrong stitch when I started the sew as you go and was a stitch off on the side. I went back and did it again and was successful. It is so nice doing this without sewing together when you are finished. Before I left the house this morning, I felted them and I love them. They are lighter than my other slippers and I think they take less yarn. I quickly felted a flower (that is slightly off center-lol) to see how they would look with a little bit of embellishment.Β  Now here is my suggestion. Add about 8 to 10 stitches on width if you are going to felt them. This is a woman’s medium.

The reason I would add stitches for width is because the seams on the toe show slightly . If I felted more on this one, they would have been for a child. It only took about 4 minutes to felt these.

In the picture the inside of heel may look funny but it is just the indentation of my shoe stretcher that I put in for drying to my size.

In a week I will try to post how you knit the sew as you go part. I know there is a lot of confusion on it from people that have tried. I also understand that the video has been removed on how to do it. It is simple but when you are told what to do you think huh? that makes no sense. Well worth trying it though.

6 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    Very cozy looking πŸ™‚

  2. Betty Said:

    I’m just waiting for next week to see the pattern so I can try my hand at these slippers. I especially like Diana Sullivan’s knitting and I feel the same about yours. Sort of sensible and clever. Thanks so much. xxx

    • Hi Betty,
      I have all of the pictures taken. I just have to put them in my drop box and get the link. I hope to get them on my blog later today.
      Thanks for the compliment.
      Carol :)

  3. Shirley Said:

    I absolutely love these slippers! The colors work so well together and the little flower is too cute. I would love to make something like this, maybe one day πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Shirley, just put your mind to it and you can make them. πŸ™‚


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

