Fingerless Gloves Pattern Corrected


DSCF5039

My girlfriend and I were discussing other ways to knit this glove on the machine. I revised the pattern first. I used 18-0-17 stitches on the main bed in a 2 by 1 rib set up by MaryAnn Ogres directions.  At TD 3  I knit to row 26(4 inches of rib) I placed a marker on each end stitch where the thumb would start. I continued knitting to row 44 where the thumb increases would stop . I placed a marker on each end stitch. Then I continued knitting 14 more rows(2 inches) to row 58 with the carriage on the right. I set the TD at 7 and knit one row to the left. I took a latch tool and from the right I just crocheted one stitch through the next across the bed to the end.

Now for the thumb part. I sewed the seam from the cuff to the marker where the thumb starts. With the wrong side facing you and the cuff end facing the bottom, I took one stitch from each edge and placed it on a needle. Two needles have a stitch on them. I knit two rows, skipped a side stitch and placed the next edge stitch on each side on the end empty needles for increase. Now four needles in work. Knit two rows. I continued doing this to the end marker and had 18 thumb stitches. I put those stitches on a size 3 straight needle and then did the garter stitch until the desired length.  Then I sewed the seam from the finger edge up to the thumb. then I sewed the thumb seam. Only three yarn ends to finish and the look is just about the same and a lot easier! This is Lion Brands Fisherman’s wool.

The picture below shows the thumb after it was knitted and before sewing the rest of the glove up.

S0025015

5 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    Very pretty Carol Darling 🙂

  2. Love them! This is my next project

    • Hope you try them. Go a little higher in tension if the carriage is too hard to push.:)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

