Wool Fingerless Gloves on the Passap E 6000


DSCF4956

My friend Sheila hand knitted a pair of fingerless gloves in Fisherman’s wool and she let me try them on. They felt like heaven. The thumb was so comfortable I told her I had to try it on the machine. The only difference is that I have a seam in my ribbing and she doesn’t. I used Maine Line Jaggerspun wool 2/8 in a peacock  color.  The pattern knits circular and on one side you start increasing for the thumb for about two inches. You then take the thumb off on waste yarn and continue knitting circular to the length you want to the fingertips.  When you finish you will rehang the thumb stitches for circular knitting and knit about 7 more rows and bind off. On my glove I crocheted the edge with two rows and the third row is a shell. If you would like to try these, I have the directions and pictures in my  dropbox. I hope I have written the instructions clearly.  Click on this link.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/dsevvlhst05hbbd/0ieI81oDxQ

You will have to probably make adjustments if you use a different yarn . The glove measures 8 and a half inches from rib to fingers. The ribbing is three inches. There is one and a half inches before starting the thumb. The length of the thumb opening is about 2 and 1/4 inches. After the thumb opening, it measures about one and 3/4 inches.  I was getting about 6 and a half stitches to the inch and about 8.8 rows to the inch.

This is the first pattern that I tried to convert that  does not just leave an opening  for the thumb and then knit in a circle. The increases make it feel tailored to your thumb. No pulling when you move your hand. I am going to try the one she had and do it on the Bulky now. When I post that I will reveal the pattern and the author. It is done in rib so mine will have a seam up the side whereas my friends does not. It just might make me do some hand knitting if I don’t like how they come out on the machine since I liked them so much. 🙂 Or, DUH, I could ask her to knit me a pair!!!!! That’s what friends are for isn’t it?

 

 

DSCF4960DSCF4962

5 Comments »

  1. Vicki Said:

    Great job as usual Carol! Vicki

  2. Susan McBean Said:

    Sweet and I love the color. But why do you have a seam if you knit it circular? I will look forward to seeing how the Bulky does 🙂 and I might (might) give it a whirl ! Ha, ha…your web page has snow flakes falling…I don’t know how you did that but I thought I was getting albino floaters !!!!
    S

  3. Susan McBean Said:

    Ok, after re reading…I see you just have the seam on the ribbing…. ( I could do that on my CSM 🙂 ) and worse case scenario, pick up the thumb stitches on needles (dpns) !
    thanks !


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

