Baby’s First Ensemble with a Little Dress


Correct Color

Correct Color

DSCF4909

I have a friend that wanted a little baby sweater for a shower gift. I made up several swatches of different yarns and ended up using Selina by Tamm. It is so soft and feels like silk.  The little sweater and hat are from Machine Knit America Volume 4 No 6. The author is Sheryl Kessler.  I made this set on the standard gauge Brother. I made a size 9 month to a year. So when I finished, I found the little dress pattern in a magazine called Machine Knitting Chic Baby and thought it was cute. I was able to change my tension to get the gauge for a one year pattern. You can’t see it in the picture but the top bands are ribbing. The back band comes over the front band and there are two buttons on each shoulder. If I make it again, I would put the buttons on the back band.  It was simple to make except that it took me a whole day. I have a window that I look out while knitting and it is in direct line with my bird feeders. I kept seeing the nuthatches, chickadees,cardinals and the red headed and downy woodpeckers. I would stop what I was doing and look through my binoculars and then take pictures. lol

Incidentally, if you have a chance to buy the magazine called Machine Knitting Chic Baby, it is well worth it. It has over 60 ideas to knit for babies and they are CUTE! There are sweaters, pants, sets, dresses and more. All patterns have the schematics so you can change to your yarn and tension if you don’t have what they call for. This can be knitted on any machine. I would use the passap the next time.

The color is a light pink. It is hard to get a good picture at night and I have to give this to the lady tomorrow.

6 Comments »

  1. Julienne Burns Said:

    So very sweet and beautifully done. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Betty Said:

    This is such a beautiful baby outfit. Wonder if I can manage to do it from the picture? xxx

  3. Rita Said:

    What a beautiful outfit. Thanks for telling us the yarn you used and where you found the patterns. Your blog is always so inspiring. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

