Knitted Angel on a Cone knitted on the Passap


Knittedconeangel1I

Angel with Halo

Angel with Halo

think this is one of the cutest things that I have seen done on leftover machine knitting cones! I don’t remember how I found Sandy Ewings  site but here is the link for her site. And  it was so nice of her to provide the free pattern!  If  you scroll down you will see the directions or click on Christmas on the home page. The picture below is her Santa and Angel. They are so adorable and designed beautifully. I love the Santa and how you make the white trim and put it on so it looks like a coat! And the wings for the angel are absolutely graceful and look really nice . Also, very easy to knit.

ConeSantaAngel

http://www.molalla.net/dallas&sandy/

Of course, I had to make it since I have the yarn for the wings. I think it is called Flash but not sure. It has a nice sparkle to it. If you click on the picture you can see the sparkle. I also learned how to OPEN cast on tubular. Well, that is after I made the body!   The bottom of the a cone is covered because I started out with a closed cast on. DUH! The good thing about it is that the person can’t see the inside. I attached the head with a pipe cleaner for stability and also glued it on.

I tried needle felting a face and it came out horrible. So while I was at Marc’s shopping I saw this little doll head on a body . I won’t tell you what I paid!!

I love the way Sandy made her arms. You cast on open tubular for full needle rib so that the stitches can be gathered. You knit one circular piece and then take off on the end piece of yarn. You put the strings of the two ends together over the top of the cone . I love it!  I went off to the fabric store for the gold trim  but forgot to look for the greens and berries for her arms. So guess what I did? I used the CARPET STITCH  and the stitch ditcher to make the muff for her hands. (Please say your remember the hand muffs from years ago!)I used the same yarn as the wings. I also made a little collar with the same yarn using 15 stitches and knitted the same way as the start of the wings.

I also bought white hair and was going to change this but I think she looks cute. I am going to make another with the white hair and maybe some lace on the lower band. Stay tuned. The possibilities are endless on making her look different.

This is going to look precious on my fireplace mantle. I can’t wait to make the Santa.

Leave a Reply

