Passap Lace Using Stitch Ditcher


passaplaceusingstitchditcher

My friend Susan just bought a passap DM80 and I teased her that she will have to go out and buy a stitch ditcher. Well, tonight I went back to the passap and tried the lace using the stitch ditcher and this is better than doing lace on a Brother with the lace carriage. It is so easy. My only problem is that my shoulder starts to hurt pushing the carriage with only one hand while the other is pushing the stitch ditcher.

I only used one strand of 224. I did a circular cast on. Then transferred all stitches to the back bed. I selected the needles and the settings are LX/N without back bed pushers. I used TD 5.. on back bed and 2… on front bed. I programmed the pattern on 27- and 27+ but added three stitches on each side that I just wanted the machine to knit. The pattern is 1130 and the technique is 253. I ended up getting 8 rows to the inch and 7.27 stitches to the inch. I would like it if I did not have to steam the scarf afterwards but don’t know what else to do to finish the edges. Once I steamed the edges though, they stayed and did not roll. I want to try a looser tension and a different yarn to see if the edges roll. Too much to crochet around the outer edges for me! Might try to figure out doing a rib on each end so it looks nicer.

passaplaceusingstitchditcher1

10 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    That came out lovely ! I fear I am a lot farther out than that stitch ditcher, since I don’t have the ability (or knowledge!) to do patterns…without the deco I guess…or how about I buy a 6000…ha, ha ha. Thanks for always stepping outside the box and working these things out for the rest of us !

  2. Linda Lanese Said:

    Lovely my dear πŸ™‚

  3. Vicky Said:

    May I ask what is a Stitch Ditcher?

    • Hi Vicky, If you go back two posts in my blog you will see what it is. Once you cast on both beds, you will transfer all fb stitches to the back bed. Then you pick a pattern and technique. After you knit two rows with the main carriage, you will slide this little gadget across the bed(front bed) and it drops those stitches off, making loops or holes for lace depending on the technique you use.
      You can drop the stitches running the carriage across on GX but time consuming.
      Carol πŸ™‚

      • Vicky Said:

        thanks

  4. Tricia Said:

    Hi Carol,
    I love the lace that you have knitted. I did buy a stitch ditcher but I cannot get the look I want with it. I can knit the pattern without it [Pattern 1016 with technique 256] but you are correct, it is time consuming.
    I know I must be doing something wrong in using the stitch ditcher but I cannot figure it out. Any suggestions on getting the stitch ditcher to be a dream for me too?

    • Hi Tricia, my first question is “After you did your cast on, did you transfer all the stitches from the front bed to the back bed? ” If you are using the stitch ditcher correctly, I would then suggest trying several different patterns. Try the one that I used on my blog and see if you get the same effect. Just play around on the machine and cast on so many stitches and knit 60 rows of one pattern and then enter another pattern and try that. They will all look different. Some good and some not so nice. Hope this helps.
      Carol πŸ™‚

  5. Fran Said:

    Hi there,

    I am looking at buying a Passap DM5 in a few days but I am very new to machine knitting. Can this be done on the DM5? Or should I be patient and wait for a DM80 to come my way?

    Fran


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

