Doing the Kitchener Stitch on the Knitting Machine


Of all the years I have been making socks, I can’t believe I did not think of this or see it somewhere- doing the grafting of toe stitches on the machine. I was making a pair of my slipper socks for someone and sometimes I like to do hand work  while watching tv and sometimes I don’t. Last night was one of those ” don’t want to do hand work moods”.When I was getting ready to take the stitches off the machine it hit me to try to do this. I took one half of the toe stitches off on waste yarn. Then I took the remaining stitches off on a garter bar to turn the stitches around so both edges would be RIGHT sides together. It was so easy and I see myself getting faster and faster. The start is much easier and you don’t have to dig for the last stitch when you come to the end. I have only done this two times but I found out that it is easier if you put a ribber cover on ribber needles so thread does not catch. Also, when you go up through the needle on the main bed and get ready to go into the back of the next one on the main bed, I took the stitch off the end needle before going into the back of the next stitch. I don’t think the end result is bad.
Left double click on each picture to see a close up. Sorry for the quality of pictures but I was up late and the lighting was not co operating!

picture # 1

picture # 2

picture # 2

DSCF3417 copy

picture # 4

picture # 4

picture# 5

picture# 5

picture # 6

picture # 6

Second Pair I grafted on the Machine

Second Pair I grafted on the Machine

I tried this again and yes, I was faster and this is my way to go from now on!

 

4 Comments »

  1. Sherry P Said:

    Great! I’ll give that a try. Thank you for sharing.
    Happy Knitting.

  2. Susan McBean Said:

    Sorry, but despite being a long time machine knitter…I have never heard of a ribber guard…
    You make it look smooth, but then you always do ! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

