Felted 12 Hour Blue Eyed Santa


santa2

santa

I call this my 12 hour Santa because that is probably the amount of time I spent getting this pattern to work for me. This is my second one. I started the pattern by following Terri L. Burns Santa pattern in her book Timely Treasures. On my first one I knitted a garter stitch for the brim of hat and cuffs but after felting it disappeared. Also after felting, the cuffs, pom pom, hat brim and face turned PINK!! I was going to scrap this one but then I decided I could needle felt the white part except for the face and make it all white again. I used a silky roving that is a bear to work with. I swear his hair and beard were growing while I was attaching them. I also had knitted mittens but they were too big after felting and I removed them and did felted ones. That turned out to be faster and better. The following pictures show how I made it and sewed it together. I started with the sleeves (that I made up) and put them on garter bar. Then when I knitted to the neck, I took that off on a garter bar and hung the sleeves (folded in half with the seam towards the body) on four stitches where the sides of the body are Β and then I rehung the body and finished the face and hat. I lightly stuffed the hat so I could fold it down. I gave him pinker cheeks, red lips and blue eyes. Who would not want this Santa to visit you?

He will probably be the only one I make! Do you think 50 dollars is too much to ask for in my Etsy store? lolΒ  Just kidding

santa3

DSCF3079

12 Comments »

  1. Lynne Said:

    Well, sounded like a bit of trouble to make him, but your efforts have been rewarded. He’s ADORABLE!

  2. Thank you Lynne, I think I made it harder than it should have been. IF and that is a big IF I were to make it again I would leave off the cuffs and brim and just needle felt after . It would be a lot easier. Thank you for the compliment . It keeps me from being discouraged and sends me back to the machines once again. πŸ™‚

    • Lynne Said:

      Is it funny how something seemingly so easy can turn out to be a lot of trouble? The Ripple Top I just made … whew… what an ordeal and it didn’t need to be. I almost want to make another just to see if I could make one more easily the 2nd time.

      • LOL, I was thinking of doing it a second time (or I should say a third time) too just to see if it was faster Nah, I don’t think so. πŸ™‚

  3. Donna Said:

    Absolutely adorable. You are one creative person!

    • Thank you Donna. I don’t feel creative when it takes that long to do something. lol πŸ™‚

  4. Charlene Said:

    The pink turned out to be fortuitous. Granted you had more work to do but Santa’s face looks wonderful. Nice going.

    • Thank you Charlene, and the best part is that he sold last night right after I put him in my Etsy store!
      Carol πŸ™‚

  5. Linda Lanese Said:

    Too darling Carol, I love his beard β™₯ good job lady πŸ™‚


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

