Embossed Diamonds on a Scarf


DSCF2186a

I made this scarf on the Brother Bulky because the sequins get caught in the needles on the passap . The yarn is Paton’s Lace.  I used the embossed diamonds design from a baby jacket I made awhile back that was in the Machine Knitting News magazine dated September of 1998. If you click on the picture you will see that the left side of the scarf is the back side of the design.  The right side is the front side of the scarf. It would not look bad with either side showing.

I thought, gee, I bet the edges won’t curl if I do the scarf in full needle rib. And they don’t. I used TD 5 on both beds. After I knit 7 rows of full needle rib, I transferred 3 stitches each side of the middle ribber stitch to the top bed. That is for the diamond. Then I transferred two more stitches on each side of those to the top bed to give room next to the ribbing. All the ribber needles that stitches  were transferred are left in non working position. When you do this there is an odd amount of needles for the diamond(on the ribber) so you have to be sure your borders are the same amount of needles. You knit 2 rows, and bring one needle on each side of middle ribber needle into work(now 3 stitches) Knit 2 rows and bring up the second stitch from the middle ribber needle into work.(now 5 stitches) Knit 2 rows and then bring the third needle from the middle ribber stitch into work (now 7 stitches) . Knit two rows and start decreasing 2 stitches on the ends until one stitch left(6 rows) Repeat that for the total design. This scarf is 24 stitches wide and the width comes to not quite 5 and 1/2 half inches.  The length is 60 inches. I knitted 24 diamonds. Each diamond pattern is 12 rows. I added 7 rows at the beginning and ends for the enclosed border.

Paton’s lace yarn is so soft and nice around the neck. You don’t feel the sequins either. It is hard to see the sequins in the picture but they sparkle nicely. I also used less than one skein of the yarn. There was more left if you wanted it even longer.

Here is the needle set up when you do the diamonds.

NEEDLE SET UPOn my scarf I have 24 main bed stitches and 23 ribber stitches.  On the ribber on each end there would be six in working position and eight more needles in work on the top bed.

2 Comments »

  1. Susan McBean Said:

    Looks great ! I am not a sequins person…but like that you did FN rib ! I am not familiar with the Patons lace but it looks like it knitted up super nice. Will have to give your directions a whirl….even if it is only for a swatch 🙂
    Thanks…as always !

  2. Hi Susan, if you are going to give it a try, go all the way and do a scarf. I will send you better directions and it goes quickly! Any yarn is good. Paton’s lace is really soft and not gaudy with the way the sequins show. Very subtle.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

