Felted Door Mitten


DSCF2140

I purchased this knitted hand pattern at the seminar for hand knitters that I attended last Saturday. The pattern is called Felted Door Mittens by Two Old Bags, formerly Wool YouOrder.  The felted Santa is a design from another hand knitting pattern for felting a Christmas ornament that I also purchased there. The name of that pattern is Needle Felted Folk Santa Ornament Pattern #W325P by Mary Dolan/Wistyria Editions.

I figured out how to knit this on the machine and it was quite easy but time consuming when it came to the decreases. This mitten is huge but I failed to put a measuring tape next to it. It was at least 30 inches long. Felted it is almost 16 inches.

It took almost 7 ounces of wool to make. This also can be used for a stocking on the fireplace as it is large enough to fill with gifts, candy and other items. It looks a little plain for the fireplace so I would add maybe snow or I don’t know what. lol

For the door hanging, the greenery should be holly or pine needles. Of course, these greens are arborvitae but you get the idea.

 

DSCF2134

DSCF2139  DSCF2147

10 Comments »

  1. Vicki Said:

    Another fine project Carol!

  2. Charlene Said:

    Dadgum that’s cute.

  3. Mary Jo Said:

    That is adorable…your so clever the way you take two projects and see a way to blend them together

  4. How do I find this pattern?

    • The pattern is called Felted Door Mittens by Two Old Bags, formerly Wool YouOrder. The felted Santa is a design from another hand knitting pattern for felting a Christmas ornament . The name of that pattern is Needle Felted Folk Santa Ornament Pattern #W325P by Mary Dolan/Wistyria Editions.
      Carol

  5. First of all I would like to say superb blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to
    writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting
    my thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any
    recommendations or hints? Thank you!

    • Hi, thank you for the compliment on my blog. I honestly can’t tell you how to clear your thoughts. My head spins constantly and I would probably be labeled ADHD if I were younger.
      In all , machine knitting is my passion and that is what motivates me…..to share with others by writing down what I do
      and hope they in turn make it their passion. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

