Intarsia Squares Felted Purse


intarsiafeltedpurse

DSCF2031

DSCF2074

I found this intarsia design in a magazine for hand knitters called Creative Knitting March 2005 issue. I just started the design with out planning what the purse would be like. Big mistake. I think it was more work for me that way. I started with the smaller block without black around it . I started on waste yarn and used 45 stitches. There are ten stitches for each color and one stitch of black between them.  I did four rows of blocks and each color block was 12 rows with two rows of black between them. I knitted ten rows of black at the top to fold over for a magnetic closure. I wanted a bottom on it so I rehung the stitches I started with on waste yarn . I knitted 18 rows for the bottom but I also cast on 12 stitches on each side for the sides. Mistake! Should have added those stitches when I started the back and not on the bottom. I have a triangular fold on the inside to make the bottom square. No big deal though since it came out okay. I did not want to do the back in intarsia but the stitch gauge would have been way off. I was up to the third row of blocks and I forgot to knit the two rows of black between the rows of blocks!!!!    Rip out time ! It was good that I ripped out because that is when I was thinking of what to do for a handle. I knitted using fairisle technique and changed colors every twelve rows. I decreased from the sides up so that the handle would not be wide. Total number of stitches for the band at the thinnest part of it was 6 for the  top colors and  8 on the bottom ( two stitches for seaming) in the black.  I felted a cord and put it under the flap and through the purse to gather a little to pull the opening in. I then tied the two pieces into a bow that I will sew so it stays straight. I also am putting a magnetic closure in. On the bottom I have four little silver ball “feet”. Since I am using  plastic canvas on the bottom to keep it square, I may line it also. It will be for sale in my Etsy store soon.

The colors in the Intarsia are light gray, dark gray, cream and natural.

2 Comments »

  1. Stella Said:

    This is gorgeous. Thanks for posting.

    • Thank you Stella. There is an ongoing conversation on felting on Knitting Paradise now. It took me 30 years to discover this craft and like it. Too bad it took me so long.. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

