Knitting Machine Latch tool versus Hair extension latch tool


latchtool1latch tool

I saw a post on Knitting Paradise from Natalie that mentioned that you could use a hair extension tool for knitting machines and it was cheaper. I stopped at Sally Beauty Supply today and I told the woman about it. She had them. I bought it and here is the difference between the two. The handles are the same length. My latch tool has a fatter handle but I have others that have a little thinner handle. The knitting machine tool hook  is 1 and 1/4 inches long and the hair extension tool hook is 2 inches long. The hook on the hair extension tool  is about half the width of the knitting machine tool. I think this feature is fantastic for the passap machines because of the  width of space between the beds. I also like how small it is for just catching a little bit of yarn to bring the stitch up. I do have a long handled hook that came with one of my machines but the hook is not rounded and it catches on everything else when  you pull up a dropped stitch. I also think the fact that the metal part is longer will be better. When you use the regular latch tool the handle can stop you from reaching far down between the beds. I can’t wait to use it. And the great thing was that it was only $3.59. I don’t know that this would help people that have the Bulky machines. I also would not latch tool off with it since it is so small.

Natalie emailed me and she said she found another hair extension tool on Amazon that has three latches and one handle. Here is the link for that if you are interested.

http://www.amazon.com/Doctored-Locks-Microneedle-Extension-Installation/dp/B002F5C2H2/ref=sr_1_fkmr2_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1363035009&sr=8-2-fkmr2&keywords=microneedle+hair+extension+tool+3+hooks

8 Comments »

  1. Betty Said:

    This latch tool looks similar to the ones used way back when panty hose were expensive and we used to repair them. I hve one, and have also used it to latch up any runs in purchased fabric or on bought garments with problems xxx

  2. Charlene Said:

    What a neat tip. Thank you.

  3. kadie Said:

    Thank you. Very helpful.

  4. Susan Said:

    Having pretty short hair I had no idea such things existed ! I am with you on wondering about repairing those panty hose !!! Peter had made me a tool using a knitting machine needle…which gave me the length I needed to get down into the sock machine ! But I am pretty sure a new needle is more money than that extention tool ! 🙂
    I have a lot of the latch tools but I liked this one because it is so small. It was nice that Peter made you a tool that gets down in the sock machine.
    Still trying to figure the panty hose repair.
    🙂

  5. Natalie Said:

    Carol, I started the thread on KP to use this tool as a beading tool for machine knitting. I’ve read on Ravelry that a knitter from AU paid quite a bit for a beading tool to ship from US to AU. My suggestion was for letting machine knitters in other part of the world know that the hair extension tool is obtainable at a local beauty supply store for much less of the cost.

    Since I have 2 beading tools already, I didn’t purchase the hair extension tool. But I’m glad you did and posted here to show the differences.

    At Amazon, there is one set that includes a pin vise with 3 different size heads of the latch tool, I think I may purchase them for comparison: http://www.amazon.com/Doctored-Locks-Microneedle-Extension-Installation/dp/B002F5C2H2/ref=sr_1_fkmr2_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1363035009&sr=8-2-fkmr2&keywords=microneedle+hair+extension+tool+3+hooks

    • Hi Natalie, Thank you for telling me you posted this idea about the hair extension tool. At least I was right that it was on KP. I will edit the article and give you credit and put the info on the three from Amazon . I noticed you had to buy the handle separately with the three but still a great price for all. I especially like it for my passap machine since I don’t like to open the beds if I see a dropped stitch because it can run down faster. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

