Passap Stained Glass Window Afghan


staingl4I saw the picture of this stained glass window design and thought it would make a pretty afghan. I used a photo program and then resized it. I worked a little bit every day on it . It came out okay but I have a lot more “tweaking” to do.  I don’t think I know enough about doing my  own patterns. The picture was huge so I shortened it to 190 rows. I worked and worked on it. Then I looked up four color afghans and they are usually 160 rows. So while it was in win/crea, I resized it and it squashed it down and I think that helped with eliminating elongation.  I also wanted to use fuscia for the flower but the 2/24 fuscia I have seems a lot thinner and I was afraid the other colors would bleed through. I used  off white, black, hunter green and plum. It did not come out that large since my mast tensions were on the tighter side. It is a great size for a lap blanket or a wrap. It is 32 inches wide by 50 inches long. I think if I clean this pattern up more, it would like nice at Christmas with a poinsettia and colors red, green ,black and off white. On second thought, I think I should leave pattern designing to other people.

10 Comments »

  1. Vicki Herman Said:

    Wow Carol, that’s pretty impressive!

    Vicki

    • Thank you, but there is still a lot to correct. I have to remember that rows show more color than columns. I will have the afghan near me when I go back to pattern and adjust what I don’t like. To someone that does not knit, I don’t think they would notice as much.
      Hopefully, lol 🙂

  2. Charlene Said:

    That is a stunning piece of work. You’re not seeing it as the rest of us are with admiration. This work is completely WOW!

    • Hi Charlene, Thank you for your beautiful comment. The funny thing is that each time I look at it I see more and more that needs changing! lol
      Carol 🙂

  3. Charlene Said:

    Hi Carol, I know the artist is always the harshest critic, but since I haven’t the talent or skills to make something this beautiful, I’ll just stand back and admire it as it is. It’s truly beautiful.

    • Thank you Charlene, I was debating on whether or not I should put it in my Etsy store. 🙂
      And if you are a machine knitter, you can make this.

  4. BJ Said:

    that is just beautiful!

  5. amy Said:

    hy, am really new to my passap. can you tell me how you did this.

    • If you are new to passap I would suggest first buying a pattern and following it to learn how to do afghans. I have a lot of corrections to make in this pattern if I do it again. I have been using the passap for a couple of years now and I am not good at doing my own patterns. I took the picture I found of the stained glass window and put it in several programs to get the right size. I now have a great admiration for people that write patterns! Good luck.
      Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

