Knitted Leaf Trim


leaftrimsingle

leaftrim3

For years I have looked at this trim for a collar and always wanted to try it. The design first appeared in the Nihon Vogue Spring/Summer 1990 hand knitting issue. Lynn Wohlsen converted to row by row directions to knit this on the machine. The directions are in a magazine called Design Studio by White Spring and Summer 1993. In the magazine the trim is done in cotton and you can see great detail. I knitted this in wool and the first try of the three leaves is incorrect. The single leafΒ  is the pattern I did correctly. You start on waste yarn and ravel on 6 stitches which is the base of the leaf on the right in the top picture. Then it is a series of increases and reformed stitches.. One leaf is 18 rows. On the last row there is a decrease on the edge of the leaf and then you bind off 5 stitches and end up with the original six you started with.Β  I am going to try felting the 3 leaf sample but I think the detail will be lost. The mistake I made in the group of three is because I did not follow the directions! It says to transfer a stitch to the next one and there is an empty needle. Then you reform the stitches to the left which means they are now knitted stitches. It says to do full fashion increase from the reformed knitted stitch and put on empty needle. Well, since it is a knit stitch there is no loop to pick up so I used the purl stitch to the right to fill in the empty needle. Duh! I knitted it over and found the bar on the knit stitch and that is how you do it. You actually want it to pull in tight so that you see the detail on the edge of the leaf that is not bound off. Look closely and you can see the difference.

leaftrim001

15 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    Very pretty β™₯

  2. Thank you!

  3. Doreen Walker Said:

    great idea thank you for this

    • You’re welcome! Thanks for posting a comment. I like feed back and ideas. πŸ™‚

  4. Joyce in MN Said:

    This trim is awesome. Leaves are my favorite. I cannot find your email address in my list. Would so much like to see the detailed instructions, if possible.

  5. Lynne Said:

    Been loving your posts about techniques. Thanks for taking the time to share them. Can you share the detailed instructions from the magazine?

    • Sherry P Said:

      I am soooo glad I found your site. I have been enjoying the articles. I, too, would like the pattern on doing these leaves. πŸ™‚

    • Yep!

      • Sherry P Said:

        So…where do we find the pattern? Am I missing something? πŸ˜‰

      • Sorry, I should have stated to email me if you want to try it.
        πŸ™‚

      • Sherry P Said:

        I’m not finding your email anywhere. Sorry about this. You have mine if that helps.

  6. Sorry, should have mentioned to email me if you want to try it. πŸ™‚

    • dinah Said:

      hi I have just came across this page I would love to try the pattern if still available ty


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

