Felted Purse with Heart Braid


DSCF1278

The first thing I thought of when I made the sample of the heart braid by Pat Wetzel was that it would make a strong strap on a purse. Here is what I came up with. Let me tell you that I should sell this as a bowling bag because this strap will never break! My husband said that the bag looked like a duffel bag from WWII before it was felted. 😦

I made the braid handle on 11 stitches and the braid around the flap on 5 stitches. I attached the handles to the bag before felting and I sewed the bottoms(where they attach to the purse) together so the strap would stay in the right direction. I attached the braid around the flap before felting also.  The colors are heather brown and oatmeal. I don’t know that I will add any needle felting since it may be too much design. And….now the trim does not look like a heart! The bottom picture is before the felting.

DSCF1265

Leave a Reply

