Felted Pucker Lips


Felted puckerlips

This whimsical design is also from Susan Guagliumi book Hand Manipulated Stitches for Machine Knitters. On page 142 she has 3-D triangles. The design looks like scales the way they are alternated and knit using just the bottom (lip part) of the design in my picture. But then she does a Five-Stitch Double Triangle and that is what my sample is. They are so easy to do. There are groups of five stitches seperated by three stitches. All needles are in hold while you work on five stitches. You just short row down to one needle and back out again just like doing the heel of a sock-takes no time at all. Then you hang the first row(when you started short rowing) on the same five needles and knit to the next group. When you complete the row you knit one row back to the right and repeat on the same stitches and that makes the top part of the lip. Then I knitted about ten rows between the lips and staggered the next group. It does not look that great knitted (bottom picture) but I think it is cute felted.   I got funny and tried a red pair of lips. I also have two ideas about what  I am going to play around with but won’t tell you what it is just yet.  If you know your passap well and the settings, you can do these on it. I like to felt so I use the Bulky Machine and wool

puckerlipsbeforefelting

7 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    I love the lips 🙂 Amazing job!

  2. Linda Lanese Said:

    What are you making?

  3. Thank you! I can’t tell you, 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

